January 1st – A New Year, A New Start

1 01 2011


Jan 1 Dawn

The new year, a new start.

1st January, 2011. It’s time for another new year, a fresh page in a book not yet written. A new dawn, a new chapter, a new beginning. This year I’m at a stage in my life where I feel as though I can make this my best year yet. Given todays theme of new starts, and looking forward to the future, I’ve decided to go with one of my all time-favourite songs by Enigma called Return to Innocence. I first heard this song as a child, so it reminds me of my childhood. It’s a wonderful song which has adorned many a personal compilation and mix tape down the years. I love the lyrics also. They are really inspiring and uplifting.

So here you have it. Song #1/365: Engima – Return to Innocence. This is also my 1st entry into ‘Post A Day 2011’ by PostAday

That’s not the beginning of the end
That’s the return to yourself
The return to innocence
Love – Devotion
Feeling – Emotion
Love – Devotion
Feeling – Emotion
Don’t be afraid to be weak
Don’t be too proud to be strong
Just look into your heart my friend
That will be the return to yourself
The return to innocence
If you want, then start to laugh
If you must, then start to cry
Be yourself don’t hide
Just believe in destiny
Don’t care what people say
Just follow your own way
Don’t give up and use the chance
To return to innocence
That’s not the beginning of the end
That’s the return to yourself
The return to innocence
Don’t care what people say
Follow just your own way Follow just your own way
Don’t give up, don’t give up
To return, to return to innocence.
If you want then laugh
If you must then cry
Be yourself don’t hide
Just believe in destiny.


Share This Blog…

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 01 2011
purrfectlee

What a perfect song to start off your project! I can honestly say I’ve heard this song many, many times but this is the first time I’ve actually listened to the lyrics. This is a powerful message. Thank you for sharing it!

1 01 2011
djbaroque

Until recently, I was exactly the same as you. One night I was lying back in bed, iPod turned up and I was really listening to the words and it struck me as to just what a wonderful song this is. Like you say, the message is powerful, but I think it’s appeal lies in the theme, which is universal. Everyone can relate to this song. Thanks for commenting, Purrfectlee!

1 01 2011
Marianne

I love the lyrics you have posted here. You’ll have to pick up the share code for the video to work. This happened to me when I picked up the embedd code instead and the video wouldn’t work on one of my blogs.

Happy New Year!

1 01 2011
djbaroque

Thanks for the comment and the advice… I’ll go rectify that. These lyrics are great. They represent a fantastic lesson for us all ‘if you want, then laugh, if you must, then cry’ I think that is so wonderful. That feeling off, not holding back, not holding it in, just releasing your inhibitions and letting your emotions show and wearing your heart on your sleeve.

Leave a Reply

