January 2nd – A song from the sea.

2 01 2011

First off, I wan’t to say a huge thankyou to everyone who visited my blog yesterday, those of you who subscribed, left me comments on here, followed me on twitter or left me a message on facebook. It’s nice to know that my blog is off interest to so many of you out there. It really does mean alot.

Today, I’m sharing a song with you by a group of fisherman from Port Issac called er… Port Issac’s Fishermans Friends! Their album is surprisingly good, and it really does grow on you. This one song for me is a standout on the album, it’s a wonderful folk track with a superb chorus. My dad has the album in the car, so whilst I was out and about this morning, I heard it again and thought it would be ideal for the diary.

Come, all you no hopers,
you jokers and rogues
we’re on the road to nowhere,
let’s find out where it goes
It might be a ladder to the stars, who knows
Come, all you no hopers,
you jokers and rogues.

Leave all your furrows in the fields where they lie
Your factories and offices;
kiss them all goodbye
Have a little faith in the dream maker in the sky
There’s glory in believing him
and it’s all in the beholder’s eye.

Turn off your engines and slow down your wheels
Suddenly your master plan loses its appeal
Everybody knows that this reality’s not real
So raise a glass to all things past and celebrate how good it feels.

Awash on the sea of our own vanity
We should rejoice in our individuality
Though it’s gale force, let’s steer a course for sanity

Don’t forget to subscribe, comment and follow me on twitter. I’ll see you all tomorrow!
I now have a facebook page for this blog: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 01 2011
purrfectlee

Daniel, Marianne is right, this is a great sing-along song. I dearly love it and had to immediately check out their other stuff on YouTube. I may even have to share it with our Music director at church. It reminds me a lot of Mumford & Sons and Galic Storm. I tuned in to your blog in the hopes that I would discover some new artists to add to my collection and you have not disappointed. AND it’s only day 2.

3 01 2011
djbaroque

I have to admit, I often think of Mumford & Sons alongside the fisherman, and I even have them playlisted together in Spotify! I’ve not heard of Galic Storm, so will be checking them out later today. I’m quite touched that you’ve been moved in the way you have, and thankyou for your continuing interest and support. It’s really encouraging and means alot!

2 01 2011
Marianne

I’m clapping enthusiastically! This is a great sing-a-long song.
Thanks for sharing!

2 01 2011
djbaroque

You’ll be humming it before you know it!

Leave a Reply

