A Song A Day: January 6th – ‘Hold On’

6 01 2011

This was by far the hardest post that I’ve made to date. Last night was a very bad night for me and I was really rather conflicted as to what to post today. I had some bad times last night and friendships changed, ties were broken, tears were shed, lots of words and things said which may or may not of been meant. By the time I eventually got to sleep, I was rather shaken about. It made me realise though, that how quickly life can change, for better, for worse.

I really didn’t know how to go about posting today. I didn’t want to go on a ranty tangent because that’s not me. I was unsure about posting a song that tugged at the heart-strings and was your ‘goodbye’ type song. What I encountered wasn’t a breakup, more of a change of circumstances. I wasn’t overly keen on posting a song which could make me feel bad down the line. In the end, I went the other way. This song goes out to anybody in this world who feels like they’re down, they’re out and that all hope is gone. There is always someone out there for you. Never feel alone in this world, never feel like that no-one cares. Times may get difficult, but you’re not alone. Sometimes we have to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves down and continue with a positive mind. Life can be hard, and this song is an anthem for anyone who’s ever gone through or is going through the motions like I am. This is one of my all time favourite songs. Rem. Everybody hurts.

When the day is long and the night, the night is yours alone,
When you’re sure you’ve had enough of this life, well hang on
Don’t let yourself go, ’cause everybody cries and everybody hurts sometimes

Sometimes everything is wrong. Now it’s time to sing along
When your day is night alone, (hold on, hold on)
If you feel like letting go, (hold on)
When you think you’ve had too much of this life, well hang on

‘Cause everybody hurts. Take comfort in your friends
Everybody hurts. Don’t throw your hand. Oh, no. Don’t throw your hand
If you feel like you’re alone, no, no, no, you are not alone

If you’re on your own in this life, the days and nights are long,
When you think you’ve had too much of this life to hang on

Well, everybody hurts sometimes,
Everybody cries. And everybody hurts sometimes
And everybody hurts sometimes. So, hold on, hold on
Hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on
Everybody hurts. You are not alone

Continuing themes from today, I want to once again take the time to thank everybody who looks, reads, comments, subscribes, follows, tweets etc on this blog. Your continued support, encouragement and feedback make this all worth-while. I value each and everyone of you.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

Share This Blog:
Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

9 responses

24 02 2011
A Song A Day: Feb 24th « My 2011 Music Diary

[…] walk on… walk on with hope in your heart. It’s one of those songs, along with REM’s everybody hurts that no matter when I hear it, it makes me happy and if I’m feeling down, it helps cheer me […]

6 01 2011
Marianne

This post brought tears to my eyes. It is so great.
I understand. I had a change in my relationship with a family member during the summer due to a situation that developed. We haven’t talked since. No grudges or resentments are held by me. I would do anything for this person if it came right down to it. I communicated my position thoughtfully. Now it is up to the individual to address the real issues. I do send cards reminding that I wish only the very best for them. I feel the loss deeply and I wish things could be different, but I understand why they can’t be right now. Hopefully, with time things will change again.

I agree, we don’t have control over things outside of us. Acceptance is key, even if that means accepting the grief and pain you feel. Allow the pain to be there. Whatever we resist, persists. However, don’t get caught up in the drama that the mind likes to create. Feel the pain and hold on. It will pass. These are some of the things I’ve learned from my life experiences. I hope you don’t mind and that I don’t offend you.

Thank you for sharing, DJ.

6 01 2011
djbaroque

No offense taken. I can relate to some of the points you make above, especially about doing anything for that person. I know how it is, you feel a great sense of ambivalence about them, as much as you want to be close to them, you feel pleased that they’re still OK. ‘No grudges or resentments’ – exactly, whatever we become, they’ll always be close to you in your heart and as such, you find it near impossible to feel negative towards them.

A very thought provoking reply, Marianne. Thankyou for posting!

6 01 2011
purrfectlee

Daniel, I want to applaud you for not taking the negatives you are feeling and running with them. That says a lot about who you are. I think you made an excellent song choice today. There was a time I was a huge REM fan and forgot that. Thank you for reminding me how amazing they are.

6 01 2011
djbaroque

I feel like taking the negatives as you put it would only make me feel worse. There’s not alot I can do about my situation. I’m looking at the positives. At least all ties are not broken and I’m still going to have contact with my friend, albeit in a different way to what was. It was emotional, and we’ve both had a cry over it and we said alot of things to each other which came from the heart. I try to remain as optimistic as I can about things. This song has always given me a bit of hope and cheer. I find that it also has the Carpe Diem factor also. I feel like it’s better for me to focus on the good things rather then thinking about the bad things, which will only get me down and make me feel sad. Look up, look out, and venture forward with the best mindset you possibly can.

6 01 2011
Delancey

This song is the only time I’ve had anyone tell me “everyone has problems now and then, it’ll get better, you have people who care about you” without me feeling like its just words. Its still a true whether its said or sung, but when its in this song, I believe it. I thnk you do too *hugs*

6 01 2011
djbaroque

This was the very first REM song that I heard, and I remember my parents buying Automatic For The People on audio casette and it practically living in the car. I think I’ve heard that album more then any other album in history and yet, every single time that I hear it, it’s still as amazing and as wonderful as ever. It’s one of my favourite albums of all time. Top 5 easily. I had to admit, the song is sincere and like you say, I do feel like it is honest/heartful.

6 01 2011
therunninggarlic

Great selection … sending words of strength
Hold on – Stay strong … you are not alone

6 01 2011
djbaroque

Absolutely, this song is ringing out with a new poignancy for me at the moment. Me and a close friend had a long emotional discussion last night, our circumstances have changed and it’s taking alot of getting used to.

Leave a Reply

