A Song A Day: January 7th – ‘Thinking About Tomorrow’

7 01 2011

First off, I wan’t to extend my deepest and warmest regards to everybody who reads this blog. Yesterday was my biggest day so far for views. You all mean the world to me. Thankyou to all of you who made yesterday the most popular post for comments also. It means alot to know that you care enough to comment and discuss the post with me.

Todays song came about after listening to my iPod in bed last night. I was listening to Fleetwood Mac (one of my favourite bands) and I realised just how much I love them. Todays song is taken from the amazing Rumours album. It’s actually kind of fitting. Looking forward to tomorrow… by which point this fresh batch of snow will hopefully of gone. Just when we got rid of aload, we get another downpour overnight.

This song was originally about a breakup and not getting hung up on it as I believe. However, you can interpret this song in multiple ways, and the main theme of the song is looking onwards to the future, being optimistic and making the most of the future, and not worrying about the past. Something I’m sure we can all relate too.

If you wake up and don’t want to smile,
If it takes just a little while,
Open your eyes and look at the day,
You’ll see things in a different way.

Don’t stop, thinking about tomorrow,
Don’t stop, it’ll soon be here,
It’ll be, better than before,
Yesterday’s gone, yesterday’s gone.

Why not think about times to come,
And not about the things that you’ve done,
If your life was bad to you,
Just think what tomorrow will do.

Don’t stop, thinking about tomorrow,
Don’t stop, it’ll soon be here,
It’ll be, better than before,
Yesterday’s gone, yesterday’s gone.

All I want is to see you smile,
If it takes just a little while,
I know you don’t believe that it’s true,
I never meant any harm to you.

Don’t stop, thinking about tomorrow,
Don’t stop, it’ll soon be here,
It’ll be, better than before,
Yesterday’s gone, yesterday’s gone.

Don’t you look back,
Don’t you look back.

Don’t forget to follow me/this blog on twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — and on facebook: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

Share This Blog:
Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

8 responses

22 01 2011
purrfectlee

To say that Fleetwood Mac is one of my least favorite bands is an understatement. Until now. THANKS….I was just fine not liking their music and you had to go and post this. LOL. Great message in the song and bravo to you for not looking back.

22 01 2011
djbaroque

You must hate me right now! Not looking back was something that was stupidly hard to do, but I knew I had to do. I managed it about 95% of the way so I shalln’t argue – I remember when I got my first VCR in ’97 I believe the first thing I recorded was Fleetwood Mac ‘The Dance’ – which was a live concert with the 5 member line up. I still have that somewhere also!

Thanks for commenting!

7 01 2011
Marianne

Great choice! Another toe tapping tune.

By the way, you sure are an inspiration in gratitude. Gratitude changes lives. I’m so glad you were inspired to create this blog. Keep up the great work!

7 01 2011
djbaroque

I remember reading about your gratitude challenge, it did make me re-think a few things. Thanks for commenting! In fact, anybody reading this comment, I urge you to check out Marianne’s blog.

7 01 2011
therunninggarlic

Fleetwood Mac – one of my all-time favorites as well! Love it and perfect song! Thanks … Debbie :-)

7 01 2011
djbaroque

They have so many good songs! Following on from yesterday this seemed fitting! Glad you enjoyed it.

7 01 2011
Delancey

Only another of my favourite songs ever :) I love this because even though in the past I have had times when I didn’t believe the words as I sang along (and I can’t help singing along) still the tune is relentlessly upbeat without being annoying.

I agree with your other commenters, you’re pretty inspirational the way you deal with bad times, y’know? *hug*

7 01 2011
djbaroque

Thanks, Delancey – I have to admit, I’m pretty moved by the response. I try to be honest on this blog and I’m just so glad that people are enjoying reading it. *hug back*

Leave a Reply

