A Song A Day: January 8th: ‘River Of Dreams’

8 01 2011

I can’t believe it’s been a week already on this blogging front! It’s been such a great ride so far and I’m enjoying every single moment of it. I’ve met some wonderful people through the comments and read some inspiring blogs. Thanks to everybody who has shown an interest in this blog so far.

Todays post was a simple choice. I keep hearing this song on a TV advert, but I can’t for the life of me remember what it’s advertising! This song I’ve known for a very long time. It’s by one of my favourite singer/songwriters. Billy Joel has so many great songs but this song has always been a standout for me. I’ve grown up with it and it’s one of those feel good songs in my view. The sun is out round my parts, all the snow has gone and I’m feeling good so todays musical choice no doubt reflects that. I hope you enjoy this song.

In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
From the mountains of faith
To the river so deep
I must be lookin’ for something
Something sacred i lost
But the river is wide
And it’s too hard to cross
even though I know the river is wide
I walk down every evening and stand on the shore
I try to cross to the opposite side
So I can finally find what I’ve been looking for
In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
Through the valley of fear
To a river so deep
I’ve been searching for something
Taken out of my soul
Something I’d never lose
Something somebody stole
I don’t know why I go walking at night
But now I’m tired and I don’t want to walk anymore
I hope it doesn’t take the rest of my life
Until I find what it is I’ve been looking for
(Three beat Pause)
In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
Through the jungle of doubt
To the river so deep
I know I’m searching for something
Something so undefined
That it can only be seen
By the eyes of the blind
In the middle of the night (break)

I’m not sure about a life after this
God knows I’ve never been a spiritual man
Baptized by the fire, I wade into the river
That is runnin’ through the promised land (Long Five beat Pause)

In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
Through the desert of truth
To the river so deep
We all end in the ocean
We all start in the streams
We’re all carried along
By the river of dreams
In the middle of the night

Don’t forget to follow me on twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or on facebook: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

 

Actions

Information

12 responses

9 01 2011
therunninggarlic

Billy Joel … yes! Great selection!!

9 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou!

8 01 2011
Marianne

Good morning, DJ. So glad the sun is shinning for you. I love sunshine.

The river picture is very pretty.
Whenever I read lyrics, my mind always wants to know the writers intent. Sometimes, the meaning seems more obvious than other times.
I’ve always liked River of Dreams.
The video wouldn’t work for me. Is it working for you?

8 01 2011
djbaroque

The River picture is a HDR image. I have a mild fixation with them :-P – I tried a few vids, all of which wanted to be played on youtube. For one day I thought it’d be ok, tomorrow I’ll try and get it back to how it normally is. Thankyou for commenting, Marianne.

8 01 2011
Marianne

This happened to me when I posted music videos on my blog. I found that when I used the share code rather than the embedd code the video played all the time. Sometimes the embedd code works, but the share code seems to never have a problem. Just wanted to let you know what I found out from my blog experience. Here are the links to the music I posted on my blog, if you want to check them out.

http://grandeurvision.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/the-gift-of-gratitude-day-74-beautiful-music/

http://grandeurvision.wordpress.com/2010/11/07/il-divo-unchained-melody/

8 01 2011
djbaroque

Some videos I’ve had to use the share code. I think the thing today is down to restrictions from the record label. Either way, thanks for the tip and the links. I’ll go forth and check them out in just a moment or two. Thanks for the feedback!

8 01 2011
mollyandtheprincess

Really look forward to your choices every day and reading your posts!

8 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou. That means alot!

8 01 2011
bwinwnbwi

I am doing postaday2011also, and, of course, after posting, over my morning coffee, I browse the inventory of the moment. Your blog caught my attention because I too am connecting posts up with significant memories of music that I have enjoyed over the yeeaaarrrrs. It’s nice that you also post utube and lyrics. I post a line or two of a song over the cover of the cd/album at the top of the page. The experience sends me back to my music collection where I sometimes get to hear music that I have not played in years. That’s the fun of it–it’s also a really good reason to do postaday2011. Take care.

8 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou for your comment. I love the phrase ‘inventory of the moment’. You have a nice taste in music, seemingly leaning towards some classic rock at times. Music is such a powerful medium. It’s ability to invoke memories and thoughts is second to none. I’ve subscribed to your blog and I’m going to add you to my blogroll. Thanks again for taking the time to read my blog, and to comment. I look forward to reading your future posts!

8 01 2011
last_lines

Great post and great song!
Thanks for the share. Love the lyrics too.
-Kim

8 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou for the comment. This song has always been a favourite. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

