A Song A Day: Jan 16th – ‘Some Things Will Never Change’

16 01 2011

Excuse me for posting a little bit later then normal, it was a disrupted night for me. It was very windy for me, so it took a lot longer to get to sleep, nearly 4am! Then I never really dropped off properly. I also think I’ve suffered some sort of hearing loss after listening to Tommy Emmanuels Initation on an experimentally loud volume in my attempts to get to sleep. I’m not so sure of the logic now I read that back, but it seemed like a good idea at the time.

Today’s post is one of my all-time favourite pieces of music which as adorned many a mix CD or tape back in the day. It’s one of those pieces of music which for me, always puts me in a good mood irregardless of what the deal is. The instrumentation, the tonality, the sound, everything about it just hits a note with me.

I forget where I first heard it, but I know that I enjoy it every single time I hear it. That will never change. This is Bruce Hornsby and The Range – The Way It Is

Standing in line marking time–
Waiting for the welfare dime
‘Cause they can’t buy a job
The man in the silk suit hurries by
As he catches the poor old ladies’ eyes
Just for fun he says “Get a job”

That’s just the way it is
Some things will never change
That’s just the way it is
But don’t you believe them

They say hey little boy you can’t go
Where the others go
‘Cause you don’t look like they do
Said hey old man how can you stand
To think that way
Did you really think about it
Before you made the rules
He said, Son

That’s just the way it is
Some things will never change
That’s just the way it is
But don’t you believe them

Well they passed a law in ’64
To give those who ain’t got a little more
But it only goes so far
Because the law don’t change another’s mind
When all it sees at the hiring time
Is the line on the color bar

That’s just the way it is
Some things will never change
That’s just the way it is
But don’t you believe them

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

Actions

Information

8 responses

17 01 2011
Marianne

Daniel, I agree with you. This song puts me in a good mood also.

So sorry you didn’t sleep well though.

17 01 2011
djbaroque

That’s ok – it’s a number of things atm. Relationship stress, illness (man-flu is a recognised illness) and deliberation over what song to blog!

16 01 2011
Elaine

Tommy Emmanuel eh? A couple of years ago I bought tickets to one of his concerts for my partner’s birthday (he’s a mad keen guitarist). To be honest (not being a guitar player myself) I didn’t really get what all the fuss was about, but he was blown away.

16 01 2011
djbaroque

I think at least 50% of a Tommy crowd know their way around a fretboard. I was suitably blown away from Row B. In complete and total awe of the guy. I think if you don’t play guitar you may not enjoy it as much, but when you look at what he’s doing with just one guitar it’s astounding. His approach to music and live shows is really personal, connective and intimate. I think your partner will back me up with saying that his music and performances are extremely moving. Thanks for commenting.

16 01 2011
donnahuebsch

My first visit to your “Song A Day” blog – nice idea! I have heard this song many times but never knew the words. I enjoyed seeing the lyrics. I am not much of an audio processor, so I need to see the words in print for them to register.

16 01 2011
djbaroque

This blog is also making me think about and look at lyrics in music more. Thanks for commenting.

16 01 2011
therunninggarlic

4 am! I was just getting up at that time. I remember this song well…That’s just the way it is! Nice selection :-)

16 01 2011
djbaroque

It was a long night! – Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

