A Song A Day: 17th Jan: To Put Down In Words…

17 01 2011

Let me pull the curtain back a bit. It’s 5:40am and so far tonight I’ve not been able to get a wink of sleep. Continuing personal reasons. Another night with a lack of sleep and tears shed. It made me realise though, just how quickly life can turn around and change, almost to the point where we don’t recognise it anymore.

我爱你我的漂亮

This blog so far has been a big virtual canvass which has caught me at my emotional low, my optimistic high and various points inbetween. Todays post however is going to be a sentimental one. Tonight, I’ve felt stress on an old friendship which I’d rather not feel again and it’s made me feel sentimental. It’s also made me realise how fast life moves and how random change can be. It can be unpredictable, dangerous and startiling. I’ve just sent a facebook message to my nearest and dearest friends thanking them for all they do for me.

There was however, one name I didn’t include in that message. Her name is Shuyi Chen, and she’s my wonderful girlfriend. I know she reads this blog. She said she bookmarked the site and hadn’t said much more about it since. Last night though, she quipped her in characteristic dulcet way…“Mr. Moonlight? but where’s Mr. Sunlight…. I want sunlight!” She’s also made reference to Lykke Li’s Possibility. from the 10th. So todays post is dedicated to you Shuyi (AKA Milky) – I don’t think I can think of a better song to dedicate to you then this uber-powerful rendition by Ewan McGregor of Your Song from Moulin Rouge. I’ve thought of this song as Milky’s song for a while now, and the fact it’s from a film makes it more special. It was films that brought us together after all, and this is one of my personal favourites. I’d even go as far as to say it’s joint favourite. However this my audio blog and not my neglected media blog….. So Milky… I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words, how wonderful life is, now you’re in the world.

THIS FILM CLIP IS A TAD RAUNCHY. THE FILM IS A 15 AFTER ALL. JUST BEAR THAT IN MIND IF THERE ARE YOUNG CHILDREN WATCHING NEARBY!!!

……My gift is my song and this one’s for you

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind
I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world
I sat on the roof and kicked off the moss
Well a few of the verses well they’ve got me quite cross
But the sun’s been quite kind while I wrote this song
It’s for people like you that keep it turned on
So excuse me forgetting but these things I do
You see I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue
Anyway the thing is what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen
And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind
I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world
Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws
P.S. This post may or may not have something to do with the first special I’m going to be putting up soon.
Share This Blog: Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter
Actions

Information

10 responses

23 01 2011
purrfectlee

I have loved this movie since the first time I watched. What’s awesome is the my dear husband got sucked into it a few months ago and actually admitted to liking it a lot. It’s certainly in my Top 5 all time favs.

Thanks for sharing this beautiful dedication to Milky. I suspect she’s a very lucky girl.

23 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou for your comment – I actually was very reluctant to see it at the cinema, then I got convinced to go see it. I ate my words, I was blown away by it – I still watch it at least once a month I’d say. I remember getting into Baz’s work afterwards and writing one of my degree papers on his work. The film was part of his ‘red curtain trilogy’ in which the other two are Strictly Ballroom and Romeo and Juliet. Each film uses a dramatic device to enhance the story. In SB it’s the dancing, in R&J it’s the poetry (they used the original script) and in MR it’s the music.

I do my best for Milky!

22 01 2011
A Song a Day – Day 22 | Dark Vador

[…] to djbaroque for reminding me of this […]

22 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou for the link there! A fine song choice!

18 01 2011
Elaine

Awww, that’s sooo sweet. I’ll have a pick from MR too, but mine will be the kick-ass Lady Marmelade & co version of Voulez Vous Coucher Avec Moi. Don’t tell anyone, it’ll spoil the surprise ;0)

Hope things get better with your friend. I don’t know if this will encourage you or drive you to despair, but I had one friend who didn’t speak to me for a full year after something I said when she was going through a hard time. It was very very difficult to live through, but she eventually came back. Time heals most things.

18 01 2011
djbaroque

I think time will sort things out somewhat. I’m just taking things each day as they come. I’ve got some wonderfully supporting friends also who are there for me. I think MR has a marvellous soundtrack. I don’t think there is a weak song on the CD. One of the best I’ve heard. Thanks for your advice, anecdote and comment!

17 01 2011
Marianne

Daniel, that was quite the performance! I never did see Moulin Rouge. I’m out of touch when it comes to film. However, I do enjoy a good film when I see one.

Great song! It’s nice to have a really special someone, I think.

17 01 2011
djbaroque

Milky is very special to me. She’s a very understanding and supportive girlfriend, especially in recent times. She knows this and I love her dearly. Moulin Rouge is 10 years old this year :O — It’s out on BD now, so I’m likely going to make this my 1st purchase when I make the quantam leap. This performance blew me away in the cinema. Heck, the entire film did and I’m a devotee of the film and Baz’s work ever since.

Thanks for commenting, Marianne… Or should that be… double-commenting!

17 01 2011
Mrs. This One

Your blog has witness your life- hopefully there will be more up than downs in your future…

-MTO

17 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou very very much. I’m hoping that too.

Leave a Reply

