A Song A Day: Jan 21st – I Believe…

21 01 2011

Whilst I was out having a wonder round the shops yesterday walking off a very filling, yet ultimately amazing chinese buffet lunch, I heard a song I hadn’t heard in ages on the radio in one of the shops. I start singing along, much to the amusement of my girlfriend (seriously though, why is it we don’t hear a song for ages, yet we can still remember the words seemingly at will?) Hearing this song reminded me of what else the band put out.

This was by my far my favourite song of Savage Gardens output. A track called Affirmation. It’s an upbeat pop number, which makes you feel good, happy and brightens your day. However, until I came to post it, I had never really paid too much attention to the lyrics. Looking at them just, I realised what a decent set of lyrics they were. Some very good points are raised, with universal themes and even stark honesty.

I fear though that this song is now going to be stuck swimming around in my head for some time! I hope you all enjoy this tune folks.

Sorry about the video, mind the loud start!  but it’s one without stupid embedding restrictions and about the best I could find.

I believe the sun should never set upon an argument
I believe we place our happiness in other people’s hands
I believe that junk food tastes so good because it’s bad for you
I believe your parents did the best job they knew how to do
I believe that beauty magazines promote low self esteem
I believe I’m loved when I’m completely by myself alone

I believe in Karma what you give is what you get returned
I believe you can’t appreciate real love until you’ve been burned
I believe the grass is no more greener on the other side
I believe you don’t know what you’ve got until you say goodbye

I believe you can’t control or choose your sexuality
I believe that trust is more important than monogamy
I believe your most attractive features are your heart and soul
I believe that family is worth more than money or gold

I believe the struggle for financial freedom is unfair
I believe the only ones who disagree are millionaires

I believe in Karma what you give is what you get returned
I believe you can’t appreciate real love until you’ve been burned
I believe the grass is no more greener on the other side
I believe you don’t know what you’ve got until you say goodbye

I believe forgiveness is the key to your unhappiness
I believe that wedded bliss negates the need to be undressed
I believe that God does not endorse TV evangelists
I believe in love surviving death into eternity

I believe in Karma what you give is what you get returned
I believe you can’t appreciate real love until you’ve been burned
I believe the grass is no more greener on the other side
I believe you don’t know what you’ve got until you say goodbye

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

Actions

Information

10 responses

23 01 2011
purrfectlee

What a wonderful song! Those lyrics are amazing. I’ve never heard this song before. Thanks so much for sharing it!!

23 01 2011
djbaroque

The lyrics really struck me when I put up this post. Never really considered them in detail before. Thanks for commenting.

21 01 2011
eclecticgirl

I originally found your blog through the Post A Day challenge, which I’m also doing, though mine is far more random than yours – I love the idea of a song a day, for a whole year, by the way!

‘Affirmation’ is a song I’ve loved, and held close to my heart since I first heard it in 1998. Lyrically, and musically it’s fantastic, and Darren’s vocals just *make* it for me … it’s in my top ten songs of all time, for sure. Gets me very emotional at times, because I can identify with every single word.

21 01 2011
djbaroque

What a wonderful comment. Thanks for doing so!

This song I really liked since I first heard it too! I think he wasn’t too bad a vocalist either. The lyrics are great, they’re simple, yet get straight to the point. Glad you enjoyed the post!

21 01 2011
therunninggarlic

I love this song! This was a song I would sing along with and I knew the words! It’s a shame they didn’t make more albums, what ever happened to them? Excellent Song….Thanks!

21 01 2011
djbaroque

I believe they split up and Darren Hayes (the singer) went solo. It was good, but without the savage garden songs to sing, there wasn’t much to it. But yes, SG had a good handful of decent songs. Thanks for commenting!

21 01 2011
Marianne

Great tune, Daniel. Very upbeat! I like it. Never heard it before. You are helping to expand my appreciation for musical tunes. The lyrics are great also, as you pointed out. Thank you!

21 01 2011
djbaroque

Thankyou for your kind comments. I’m quite touched that you think i’m expanding your musical appreciation, that does mean a lot. It feels great to know that I’m having some sort of impact on my readers. That’s put a smile on my face! I didn’t really get the lyrics until last night, I was pretty impressed once I read through them properly! Thanks for commenting, Marianne

21 01 2011
gitikapartington

hey..I am doing a song a day too! we should compare and contrast.

21 01 2011
djbaroque

Oh Aye?! Maybe we could hook up together in the future. Will go and check it out after I attend to a little housekeeping here. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

