A Song A Day: Jan 22 – Random Inspiration

22 01 2011

I’d like to start things off by thanking everybody who has visited my blog since the turn of the new year. Yesterday was my most popular day so far! I want to thank each and every reader, my regulars, my commenters, my subcribers and more.

I’ve taken to posting on this blog in the small hours of the morning. A very good blog post not so long back by Kim over at Dragonfly Scrolls talked about your personal writing time, or as she dubbed it, the write time of day. I feel as though I’m able to make better choices and I feel more connected to the music and the blog late at night. It’s around the 2am mark at the moment!

Today’s song came from the most unlikely of places, or one that I wasn’t expecting. This is part of the appeal for me, the song I put up can arise from all kinds of situations. One thing I’ve not really talked about so far on this blog is my enjoyment of Video Games. One of my favourite games of all-time is Mirrors Edge. I’m working my way through it slowly. I know it’s an older game (by video game standards) but I didn’t get it until recent times, and at £5, I couldn’t grumble.

The game is like nothing else I’ve played before. It’s a first person platformer, with aspects of FPS, stealth, fighting and the age old tried and tested video game method of run-like-hell away from the bad guys. One of the things that struck me though was the overall design of the game. It’s just different, at times it’s minimalistic, then it’ll be full on the next. The use of colour is astounding. It’s almost like a Zhang Yimou film. Today’s track comes from the score of the game. It’s by Lisa Miskovsky and it’s called Still Alive. It’s a sweet sounding song, but the lyrics are in contrast to the overall tonality of the piece in my opinion!

The cake is a li—oh… wait.. not that Still Alive……(Cyber Cookies for the first person to tell me what that’s referencing in a comment)

I have changed
I have changed
Just like you
Just like you
For how long
For how long
Must I wait
I know there’s something wrong
Your concrete heart isn’t beating
And I’ve tried to
Make it come alive
No shadows
Just red lights
Now I’m here to rescue you oh
Oh I’m still alive
I’m still alive
But can not apologize, no
Oh I’m still alive
I’m still alive
But can not apologize, no
So silent
No violence
But inside my head
So loud and clear
You’re screaming
You’re screaming
Covered up with a smile I’ve learned to fear
Just sunshine
And blue sky
Is this all we get
For living here
Come fire
Come fire
Let it burn and love come racing through
Oh I’m still alive
I’m still alive
But can not apologize, no
Oh I’m still alive
I’m still alive
But can not apologize, no
I’ve learn to lose
I’ve learn to win
I’ve turned my face against the wind
I will move fast
I will move slow
Take me where I have to go
Oh I’m still alive, I’m still alive
But can not apologize, no

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

Actions

Information

9 responses

30 01 2011
A Song A Day: Jan 30th – The Cake Is A Lie! « My 2011 Music Diary

[…] as I’m typing this! So today’s song post is going to reflect that. Ever since I posted Still Alive from Mirrors Edge a short while back, I’ve wanted to post the other Still Alive song which plays at the end of […]

24 01 2011
Marianne

I’m afraid I’m not familiar with video games, although I’m in awe of the technology. Oh…and I’m way behind on the technology scene also. I’m not even sure about the whole ipod thing yet. LOL!

Maybe one day, I’ll have more time to play around with this stuff so I can learn it.

Nice song, Daniel.

24 01 2011
djbaroque

I’ve always enjoyed video games, I don’t have that many compared to some of my friends, but the ones I have I really enjoy. Video games for me though are often my downfall. I like to keep a tab on my sleeping pattern, then I get involved playing The Sims 3 or Age Of Empires 3 and before I know it I can hear birdsong outside my window! If there is one thing I really don’t like leaving the house without, it’s my iPod!

22 01 2011
therunninggarlic

Virtual cake is good for my diet comment? You are right a very sweet song .. see this is where the reading the words on the screen and watching the video both are important for understanding; which I’m not sure I do. Making me think here at this early hour!

22 01 2011
djbaroque

*chuckles* – This is the downside of waking at 4am. Your body may be awake, but your mind is still firmly tucked up in bed. Looking at the song, it would appear that it’s telling the story of the game. So dare I say it – if you’ve not quite finished the game (a la me) it may be talking about the ending… Still – upon taking the song for what it is, I like it! – Thanks for commenting.

22 01 2011
last_lines

Great post! Thanks for the link back.
From one night owl to another: Woot Woot!
:)
-Kim

22 01 2011
djbaroque

Your welcome Kim – Twitteroo??

22 01 2011
Aditi

Oh, I love playing video games as well.. but if i get stuck at some level … i end up wasting multiple weekends on it and then out of frustration i give up. This happened with me when i started playing KAMEO (XBOX). I love that game, amazing graphics and music and and then one bad day i got super stuck. You know where u r supposed to kill the bad guy in a particular time .. i just cant that thing done. Wasted months, now those, who might have played it, might be laughing on me right now but that was the truth.
Anyway I did love playing OBLIVION (role playing sorts).
I just hope you don’t get stuck any where :)

22 01 2011
djbaroque

If I get stuck, I’ll usually try and try to I eventually turn it off due to low amounts of patience. Then I come back to it the next week and I seem to be able to breeze through it no problem. My Gamer Goal atm is New Super Mario Bros Wii — I’m trying to go back and get every dragon coin from all the levels so I can open up the star world levels. So far I’m 1 down with 8 to go I think. So 8 worlds of levels, average 6 or 7 levels per world, with 3 coins in each level = happy hunting.

Mirrors Edge is awesome, it really gets your heart beating. I’ve had a bit of trouble with the harder parts though. Luckily enough you don’t have a life counter on this game, so you can keep retrying again and again. I never did get to sample Oblivion. My RPG experience kinda starts and stops at Diablo, with a pinch of Sacred thrown in. – Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

