A Song A Day: Jan 25th – See The World

25 01 2011

When I decided to take on this daily blogging challenge, never did I imagine that it would have such a wonderful effect on me. I’m having a lot of fun each and every day with this, and I’m really glad that I decided to undertake this challenge. It’s made me realise just how much I like writing, and specifically writing about the things I love. Music is one of a few true passions of mine, along with film/cinema and playing the guitar to name but three.

See The World...

This blog is fantastic outpost and I feel like it’s good to have an outpost to log my feelings and thoughts about life. I feel as though I’m bettering my abilities to express myself and my writing skills there within. I’m thinking about this blog throughout every day now. I enjoy reading each and every comment left for me. I always make sure that I reply to every single comment left on here.

Todays song is one of my favourite songs. I first came across it on the House MD soundtrack and I’ve been enjoying it ever since. It’s a great acoustic guitar driven track with a huge chorus. The lyrics are very beautiful and quite poetic. My favourite part has to be ‘So reach out it’s not too far away. Don’t mess around now, don’t delay’  – I love lyrics like these. It’s that notion of being able to achieve your dreams and not letting things get in your way. The idea of making your hopes becoming a reality. Set your sights and aspirations high and work towards making that goal an actuality. There some other themes and ideas in the lyrics (especially the chorus) also which I really like. I hope you enjoy todays song… See The World by Gomez

Day to day
Where do you want to be?
cose now you’re trying to pick a fight
With everyone you need

You seem like a soldier
Who’s lost his composure
You’re wounded and playing a waiting game
In no-man’s land no-one’s to blame

See the world
Find an old fashioned girl
And when all’s been said and done
It’s the things that are given, not won
Are the things that you want

Empty handed, surrounded by a senseless scene
With nothing of significance
Besides a shadow of a dream
You sound like an old joke

You’re worn-out, a bit broke
An’ askin me time and time again
When the answer’s still the same

See the world
Find an old fashioned girl
And when all’s been said and done
It’s the things that are given, not won
Are the things that you want

You’ve got a chance to put things right
So how’s it going to be?
Lay down your arms now
And put us beyond doubt
So reach out it’s not too far away
Don’t mess around now, don’t delay

See the world
Find an old fashioned girl
And when all’s been said and done
It’s the things that are given, not won
Are the things that you want

The things that you want
Are given not won
The things that you want
Are given not won

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 01 2011
Marianne

Daniel, it is wonderful to hear that you are enjoying blogging. I’ve found that it is such a great way to grow and such a good way to meet nice people like yourself. Really great song too! You’re doing a great job!

27 01 2011
djbaroque

I’m enjoying this more then I ever thought I would – it’s a very rewarding and healthy hobby. I’m connecting with some wonderfully minded people across the world. Thanks for commenting!

25 01 2011
last_lines

Great post! Great Song! Gotta love those accousitics!
Kim :)

25 01 2011
djbaroque

Thanks for commenting, Kim – Yes, this version is lovely. The original studio version had embedding restrictions, but then I got lucky with this rendition!

25 01 2011
bwinwnbwi

Reading your blog is like a breath of fresh air. It reminds me of my youth. I’m glad we are on the same schedule for posting. Your energy is contagious. It makes it easier for me to post my own stuff–and it makes me smile. Thanks!

25 01 2011
djbaroque

Awww, thankyou very much – it’s nice to know that I’m able to empower someone through something as simple as a blog. That’s made me smile, and that’s given me the energy and good vibes to be in a good mood for the remainder of today! Thanks for commenting!

25 01 2011
therunninggarlic

Enjoyed and Good Morning!! Wonderful choice … now I am ready for the day! Bravo, Debbie :-)

25 01 2011
djbaroque

Then my work here is done =)

Leave a Reply

