A Song A Day: Jan 26th – Putting Out The Fire With Gasoline

26 01 2011

Today’s post comes with a bit of a story. I was conflicted as to which song to post. I had two ideas in my mind, but couldn’t decide which one to put up. This is my musical diary, and both songs highlight my day yesterday. It was a far longer and more stressful day then I imagine. One which involved me gettting cold, wet and just nicely bothered. I was torn between posting a Chinese piece called Jasmine which always makes me relaxed and at ease for some reason, or a song about my goal for the next few days. I discussed it with Milky, who reads this blog and is also the best gosh darn girlfriend out there. She convinced me that sticking with the one song was the best way forward. Which was what I was beginning to feel. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

Taken from Inglourious Basterds

So after a short discussion, Milky said I should go with the one about my forthcoming goal, which was the way i was beginning to lean! I’ve seen a job posistion come up and it’s a writing posistion. It’s about film, and you need wordpress experience along with knowledge of film and the history etc. Having acheived a BTEC and a Ba(Hons) in the subject as well as blogging/WP experience I’m going to go for this post. I’m really excited about it, and the chance to write about one of my passions is one I don’t want to miss. I love film, from latest blockbuster releases to the works of the unsung heros from yesterday.

Todays post then was a song I first discovered in 2009. I was on holiday in Devon (which is a wonderful tourist seaside attraction on the south coast of England) and I went to catch the latest Quentin Tarantino movie at the cinema which is more or less on the seafront. Suffice to say Inglourious Basterds was everything you expect from a QT flick and more. The acting was first rate, the story telling and script was classic Quentin and the editing was exquisite (R.I.P. Sally Menke) There is a mesmerising scene towards the latter stages of the film which is set against a great track which at the time I called ‘The Gasoline Song’ — I later found out it was David Bowie and the song was called Cat People. That’s what i’m presenting here today for you. I hope you enjoy this song.

See these eyes so green
I can stare for a thousand years
Colder than the moon
It’s been so long
And I’ve been putting out fire
With gasoline

Feel my blood enraged
It’s just the fear of losing you
Don’t you know my name
Well, you been so long

See these eyes so red
Red like jungle burning bright
Those who feel me near
Pull the blinds and change their minds
It’s been so long

Still this pulsing night
A plague I call a heartbeat
Just be still with me
Ya wouldn’t believe what I’ve been thru
You’ve been so long
Well it’s been so long
And I’ve been putting out fire
with gasoline
putting out fire
with gasoline

See these tears so blue
An ageless heart
that can never mend
These tears can never dry
A judgement made
can never bend
See these eyes so green
I can stare for a thousand years
Just be still with me
You wouldn’t believe what I’ve been thru

You’ve been so long
Well, it’s been so long
And I’ve been putting out fire
with gasoline
putting out fire with gasoline

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 01 2011
Marianne

Unfortunately, I don’t know much about film and I didn’t see the one you mention in your post. Once in a while, I watch a DVD at home. The last one I saw was “Eat Pray Love”.

Best of luck to you too, Daniel! It would be great to have a job you love to do.

27 01 2011
djbaroque

Yes – Film is my joint 1st interest along with music. I had a previous blog which was music and film combined but with being new to the blogosphere I didn’t make the greatest job of it. I’m looking into rebooting/restarting the blog now I’m more up-to-speed with blogging and wordpress. Eat Pray Love rings a bell, but I’m not quite sure where from. Maybe I heard it on the Movies You Should See Podcast! Fingers crossed for this job, I think out of all the jobs I’ve applied for, I’ve never been more excited about the prospect then this, and that’s saying something!

26 01 2011
therunninggarlic

Oh gosh….best of luck with the writing job – I really hope you get it! Reading your music posts I am sure you would be the perfect match for the job (and you can quote me on that!)
Debbie :-)

26 01 2011
djbaroque

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’d love to get this writing post. This blog has changed me in a good way. It’s wonderful to have a goal and a target to work towards each day. Thankyou for your words of encouragement, *crosses fingers*

Leave a Reply

