A Song A Day: Jan 27th – Out Here In The Fields

28 01 2011

One of the things that I like about this blog and the idea of the musical diary is that inspiration come anywhere at anytime. I was watching the Quentin Tarantino CSI special last night on DVD when inspiration struck. It reminded me of a few songs, one of which I’m presenting to you here today. After yesterdays more serious topic, todays song choice is a little lighter. I forget quite where I first heard this song, but it was before it was the theme tune to CSI: New York.

The Who’s Baba O Riley is one of my favourite songs. Whenever I’ve got my iPod in shuffle mode and it comes on I always turn my ipod up to ‘experimental’ volumes. This is one of those songs that I really should get round to learning how to play on the guitar properly, instead of learning parts of songs I’ll never be able to fully play due to sheer complexity!

This song also reveals a guilty pleasure… Air instruments. In a scene reminiscent of Dr. House (wait… is that 3 days in a row now I’ve mentioned that show? If not 3 in a row, I think maybe 3 out of 4) I end up playing air keyboard for the intro before coming in with the drum fill. I remember one of my friends laughing at me (in a good way) on the old university campus bus after I was listening to this and Phil Collins’s Something In The Air Tonight back to back and I’m there doing air drum fills. Aww, the good old days of hour plus long commutes each way to university plugged into my ipod listening to allsorts of music. I think along with The Sims 3, Age of Empires 3 and talking to Milky, my iPod is the single biggest reason for a disrupted sleep pattern!

The version i’m presenting here is a live version. I was always very fond of this performance, there is a wonderful energy about it and the music is played with a real passion. I shall worn you though. The video below is very loud! So you might want to drop your speaker level before clicking play. Hope you enjoy!

Out here in the fields
I fight for my meals
I get my back into my living
I don’t need to fight
To prove I’m right
I don’t need to be forgiven

Don’t cry
Don’t raise your eye
It’s only teenage wasteland

Sally ,take my hand
Travel south crossland
Put out the fire
Don’t look past my shoulder
The exodus is here
The happy ones are near
Let’s get together
Before we get much older

Teenage wasteland
It’s only teenage wasteland
Teenage wasteland
Oh, oh
Teenage wasteland
They’re all wasted!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 01 2011
cornercatcher003

Nice dear….My era

29 01 2011
djbaroque

They don’t make rock music like they used to! Thanks for commenting.

28 01 2011
Elaine

Another one I’ve never heard before. Made me chuckle, that little bum wiggle and Animal-style dancing by the guitarist, you don’t see that any more!
Heads up, Phil Collins is in my list ;-)

28 01 2011
djbaroque

Pete Townsend used to get very animated indeed. Phil Collins you say? Not a bad addition! Thanks for commenting!

28 01 2011
donnahuebsch

These guys tired me out just watching them :o) Nice post, Daniel.

28 01 2011
djbaroque

Yes, it was a very energetic performance. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

