A Song A Day: Feb 2nd – ‘You Can Go With This… You Can Go With That!’

2 02 2011

If I had to sum up this blog in one sentence, I’d have to say ‘Steam Of Consciousness’ – I had a comment recently saying that one of the enjoyable things about this blog was reading my thoughts and motivations behind each post. If I put up a song here, it’s normally been after some thought or deliberation. I’m normally happy that the song is suitable to go up and that I can happily write about why I chose it and that. Today’s song is no exception.

How many times have you heard a piece of music or a song and thought to yourself… ‘Man, I haven’t heard this in ages! What a great tune!’ This is exactly what happened to me today. I was going through some old VHS cassettes (Yes, I still have a player!) and I came across an advert with this piece of music on in the background. It was one of those songs that you heard creeping up all over the shop since it came out. I’ve lost count the amount of times that I’ve heard Mumford and Sons’s The Cave on adverts and TV programmes.

I remember seeing the music video (which is below, and a sure-fire contender for greatest music video ever) and thinking that the song is actually pretty good to boot. I didn’t know the name of the song, or much care because as much as I liked the song, I didn’t really have intentions of buying the single or album. It was just one of those songs that if you heard it, you’d turn up the radio and enjoy it. Anyway, cut a long story short I was in HMV one day and did that classic thing of impulse buying en route to the till. I picked up a Fatboy Slim album for £2.99 which was on offer. I only knew the one song which if I recall correctly was called Ya Mama (another piece which would creep up on the TV when you least expected it) Anyway, the album turned out to be pretty unmemorable except for 3 tracks, and one of those I present to you today. The lyrics, are pretty unusual. I feel as though they are pretty random! Make of them what you will… But this song is all about the groove and the music video.

Yes, that is who you think it is…

I’ve also truncated/edited these lyrics to make them shorter. Basically, I took out lots of repeated lines and added in (repeat), otherwise, this thing would be huge!

Break, eject
Eject, eject (Repeat)

‘For they catch ya Chainsmokin’ (Word) (Repeat)

‘For they catch ya, ‘For they catch ya, (Repeat)

Don’t be shocked by tone of my voice
Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice
Don’t be shocked by tone of my voice
Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice, yeah

Listen to the sound of my voice (aah…)
You can check it on out, it’s the weapon of choice, yeah

Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice (aah…)
It’s the new weapon, the weapon of choice

You can blow with this
Or you can blow with that
You can blow with this
Or you can blow with that
Or you can blow with this
Or you can blow with that
Or you can blow with us

You can blow with this
Or you can blow with that
You can blow with this
Or you can blow with that
You can blow with…

Walk without rhythm, it won’t attract the worm
Walk without rhythm, and it won’t attract the worm
Walk without rhythm, and it won’t attract the worm
if you walk without rhythm (uh), you never learn, yeah

Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

(Can’t forget to load it)
Before they catch ya Chainsmokin’ (Repeat)

You can go with this
You can go with that
You can go with this
Or you can go with that
Or you can go with this
Or you can go with that
Or you can go with us

You can go with this
You can go with that
You can go with this
Or you can go with that
Or you can go with…

Organically grown
Through the hemisphere I roam
To make love to the angels of light, yeah
and my girl
I guess you just don’t understand
It’s gone beyond bein’ a man
As I drift off into the night
I’m in flight

Break, eject
Eject, eject (Repeat)

Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,Eje,…

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 02 2011
Elaine

Another one I’ve never heard/seen before. Wild vid, I do like the groove.

Unrelated question, but where do you get your neat little date-stamp thingys from – the 2 02 2011 on the top right. I want one!
Elaine

2 02 2011
djbaroque

The groove and video to this is awesome I must admit. The ‘date-stamp thingys’ are part of the blog theme/template. Thanks for commenting!

2 02 2011
therunninggarlic

He does an excellent job – kept me watching and smiling :-)
Debbie

2 02 2011
djbaroque

Glad I’ve brightened your day! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

