A Song A Day: Feb 4th – Teardrop

4 02 2011

Without realising it, I’m developing a pre-blog post routine. It dawned on me today, the little quirks stood out and I realised that i’d been doing it for a little while now. I seem to lie a certain way, with things arranged around me in a certain order, I open windows in a certain way and I go about constructing the post in a certain way. I’m not superstitious, because I know that’s unlucky, but I don’t want to change it because of the possibilities that could emerge. So after that slightly random start – onto todays post…

Todays post is a wonderfully chilled out, laid back smooth tune with some gorgeous poetic lyrics and a vocal performance to boot. I’m feeling very relaxed at this point in time. I had a surprise visit from my friend Sarah today which was just wonderful, despite talking everyday on MSN messenger, catching up in person is so much better – things can be conveyed so much deeper. My beloved Milky is coming over tomorrow for the day, before a weekend involving Chelsea Vs. Liverpool, Chinese New Year celebrations in the city and something called a Superbowl…

Prior to writing this post I’d been plodding my way through what can only be described as a video game beyond video games. Easily one of the games I’ve ever played on any console, Uncharted 2 on the PS3 is godlike. I only got the console as a freebie (as such) with my new phone contract, and I picked up uncharted 2 based on universal acclaim at a bargin price for being in the right place at the right time. The game is just breath-taking, it’s uber-cinematic and has had me picking my jaw up off the ground several times during the cutscenes and that. The action in the game is just like a block-buster movie. You dont know what happens next. It could be anything from there being an explosion, to the floor giving away to anything. Heck, the character you play as has already been double-crossed twice!

Anyway… I’m stuck in some frozen mountains at the moment. Whilst trying to find a solution to a puzzle posed ahead of me, I took a moment to look around the area (as you do) to see if there were any clues, pathways, openings etc. So whilst I’m screen searching, the snowy landscape invoked a piece of music in my head, which I could hear playing over the visuals from the game, and that’s what I’m presenting to you here today. This song is called Teardrop by Massive Attack. This is such a beautiful song in my humble opinion and I hope you enjoy it.

Slightly perculiar video, but I guess it fits…

Love, love is a verb
Love is a doing word
Fearless on my breath
Gentle impulsion
Shakes me, makes me lighter
Fearless on my breath

Teardrop on the fire
Fearless on my breath

Nine night of matter
Black flowers blossom
Fearless on my breath
Black flowers blossom
Fearless on my breath

Teardrop on the fire
Fearless on my…

Water is my eye
Most faithful mirror
Fearless on my breath
Teardrop on the fire
Of a confession
Fearless on my breath
Most faithful mirror
Fearless on my breath

Teardrop on the fire
Fearless on my breath

You’re stumbling a little
You’re stumbling a little

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 02 2011
therunninggarlic

I have my routines too – I find that the less I stress about writing, the easier it comes to me. Are you serious about “something called a Superbowl”? It is a massive event here and there was a “slight” chance our own Chicago Bears would be in it, but not so. Even without that – we all party it up…Big SuperBowl party at my sister’s this Sunday! Would you like to join us?
Debbie :-)

4 02 2011
djbaroque

I know all about the superbowl – it was just the way I phrased it! Me and Dad watch it every year. Considering I’m in England, it’s normally shown live in the small hours of the morning. I normally watch the first 2 quarters and half time-show then catch the rest the day after. Shame The Who last year were let down by bad sound. Tom Petty and Springsteen in years before were great though! The invite sounds nice! Thanks for commenting!

4 02 2011
donnahuebsch

It’s funny that you mentioned a pre-blog post routine…I think I have one, also. I guess after posting every day for over a month, the way we go about the posting does develop it’s own rhythm.

4 02 2011
djbaroque

I’m pretty amazed at how fast the blogging experience has gone, and how great it is. There is a definite rhythm and ‘way about things’ which has sub-consciously been developed. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

