A Song A Day: Feb 7th – RIP Gary Moore.

7 02 2011

I’m going to keep this one short. The guitar world today has lost one of the all-time greats way before his time. As a guitarist myself, I looked up to Gary Moore and he was one of my favourite players. I read the news and was at a loss for words. In fact, I was almost moved to tears. The entire guitar world will forever morn the loss of one of the greatest guitarists of all time. Still Got The Blues was one of the first songs I learnt on my electric guitar, one I still play and get into to this day. Gary now joins the list of guitar immortals who all died before their time: Jimi Hendrix, Rory Gallagher, Dimebag Darell, Jeff Buckley, Randy Rhodes, Kurt Cobian, Roy Buchanan, Django Reinhardt, Frank Zappa, George Harrison, Danny Gatton, Duane Allman, Chet Atkins, Mick Ronson to name but a few.

I’ll leave you with this sublime performance from the Stratpack concert of Gary doing what he loved. Rip Gary. My heart goes out to you, your family and all those who you loved, and loved you in return.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

