A Song A Day: Feb 10th: The Underated Fergie

10 02 2011

First off, I just want to give a little reminder that I’m currently running a giveaway competition to win a brand new copy of Jeff Waynes War Of The Worlds CD. You can find all the details here (and you don’t even have to be a wordpress member to enter!) You just have to leave a comment on that page stating you’re in the giveaway. That’s simple. That’s just so I can number the comments I receive, and pull a number out of the hat to determine the winner! It’s open to UK, USA, Europe etc. Anywhere I can post it too, you can enter!

Is Fergie Underated? This Blogger Says YesAs I’m sure you are all aware, it was the Superbowl this past Sunday night. I’ve seen peoples opinions on the Black Eyed Peas performance and people were slagging off Fergie saying that she can’t sing and she sounded terrible. I even got into a discussion with it on facebook with a friend of mine. I made the point that Fergie’s vocal talents can far exceed anything that she’s done with the Black Eyed Peas and that she cannot perform to the full extent of her ability in that outing.

I made cases for two performances by Fergie which prove that she can sing really well and she has a fantastic pair of lungs on her. The two performances I made cases for where Be Itallia from the film Nine, and Beautiful Dangerous, a song she sings on the Slash album from last year.The two pieces are really quite different. One of them is a show number and the other is an out and out rock and roll powerhouse. When you listen to either of these pieces and then listen to what she does in the Black Eyed Peas, you really see how much is lost with her being in that group. I’ve got nothing against the Black Eyed Peas at all (even though I thought they were an odd choice for the Superbowl HTS after a recent who’s who of classic rock and roll the past few years:- Tom Petty, The Stones, Bruce Springsteen and The Who. Even Prince can rock out when he wants too (he’s an underated musician IMO)

Here’s what I want you to do. Have a listen to both of these pieces (Nine and Beautiful Dangerous) and let me know which one you think is the best, or you liked the most. I’m curious to see if my feelings are shared or if i’m singing from a different hymn sheet.

Spoken:
So you little Italian devils, you want to know about love?
Saraghina will tell you. If you want to make a woman happy, you rely on what you’re born with, because it is in your blood.

Be Italian
Be Italian
take a chance and try to steal a fiery kiss
be Italian
be Italian
when you hold me don’t just hold me but hold this
please be gentle, sentimental
go ahead and try to give my cheek a pat
but be daring and uncaring
when you pinch me try to pinch me where there’s fat
HA!
be a singer(be a singer)
be a lover (be a lover)
pick the flower now before the chance is past(pick the flower now before the chance is past)
be Italian (be Italian)
be Italian (be Italian)
live today as if it may become your last!

Hey!

be a singer(be a singer)
be a lover (be a lover)
pick the flower now before the chance is past(before it’s past)
be Italian (be Italian)
be Italian (be Italian)
live today as if it may become your last!

Or…

I don’t know who you are now
Mystery drenches my brain
I wanna jump deep into your mouth
‘Cause something tells me it’s gonna rain

I hear the thunder thumping and my heart starts jumping
And that’s when I spit on the bowl
Now my head’s exploding and your gun is loaded
So I’m guessing I’m on a roll

Well, it’s a fine time looking for a wine time man
And you said, “Baby, you ready to play?”
Well, come right on this roller coaster
‘Cause it ain’t over, it ain’t over

Now we’re on this planet I’m in love
With all your danger, danger
We can live forever
I can be your vacant angel, angel
Beautiful dangerous

You like it smooth like Ray
Savor the flavor, would you lie
You can be sick, I’ll be nasty
‘Cause sometimes it’s more fun to fight

I hear the thunder thumping and my heart starts jumping
And that’s when I spit on the bowl
Now my head’s exploding and your gun is loaded

So I’m guessing I’m on a roll

Well, it’s a fine time looking for a wine time man
And you said, “Baby, you ready to play?”
Well, come right on this roller coaster
‘Cause it ain’t over, it ain’t over

Now we’re on this planet I’m in love
With all your danger, danger
We can live forever
I can be your vacant angel, angel
Beautiful dangerous
(Beautiful, it’s beautiful, beautiful)

Now we’re on this planet I’m in love
With all your danger, danger
We can live forever
I can be your vacant angel, angel
Beautiful dangerous

Now we’re on this planet I’m in love
With all your danger, danger
We can live forever
I can be your vacant angel, angel
Beautiful dangerous

MAKE SURE YOU CHECK OUT FEB 8TH’S POST HERE TO BE IN WITH A CHANCE TO WIN A SUPER COOL PRIZE!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 02 2011
Aditi

I like her voice, specially in “Big girls don’t cry” . :)

10 02 2011
djbaroque

I’m not familiar with all of her solo work, but that one ring’s a bell, even if i’ve not heard it. Will check it out – Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

