A Song A Day: Feb 12th – Coffee Shop Inspired!

12 02 2011

Today was just one of those days were things seemed to go right. Everything ticked over at a steady pace. Absolute content from start to end. Enough activities to keep yourself amused and not bored, some great company, a nice meal and good news to boot!

I had to be intown for about 9-30 this morning, which was the earliest I’ve been out in a while. I had an appointment to make which was all well and good, routine kinda stuff. I decided to go for a mooch round my local shopping centre which is t’other side of the road from my appointment. I’d like to say at this point that I went on a spending spree and brought lots of really cool things, but I can’t. I ended buying some Lynx shower gel which was on offer, a footlong subway to take home for luch (I shared it, I’m capable of eating them, but not today!) and a latte from costa – which is where todays song post was inspired.

Costa is a coffee chain of coffee shops in the UK. If Starbucks is Central Perk from Friends, then Costa is like the coffee shop from Fraiser. At least in my opinion, it’s smaller, a bit slower paced and has a warm cosy kinda feel. If there’s one thing I dig about coffee shops it’s the walks of life you get in there. There is just something about them. All age groups, all there for different things. You can go there and unwind, people watch, take up business matters, have a quick drink on the go, meet friends, reconnect etc. It’s just wonderful. The smell is nice too. Coffee beans are on a par with freshly baked bread or coming home to a nice jacket spud!

Anyway, enough pontification. For some strange reason now, everytime I’ve ventured into Costa the same song has either been playing as i’ve entered on my iPod, or it’s come on whilst I’m in there. To put it into context. There is a 2 in 6000+ chance of that happening. The song is on my iPod twice (once on the original album, and again on a hits compilation) It’s 9/10 months ish now since I first heard the song on a Classic Albums documentary (one of my all time favourite TV shows) which went into the making off Aja by Steely Dan. Up until that point, my association with Steely Dan stretched to 2 songs (Reelin’ in The Years and Boadhisatva) – I had no idea though that the aja album even exsisted, nor would it become almost routine listening from that point forward.

The album might just be my all-time favourite. There isn’t a single bad moment in any of the 7 tracks. The first 4 tracks which made up the original side 1 on the LP might just equate to the greatest side 1 ever commited to tape. The song in question for today’s post is track 3 on the album, Deacon Blues. The song is a easy going hybrid of smooth jazz and pop with some wonderful trumpet lines and charming vocal harmonies which only get better with every single listen. It also has the uncanny knack of coming on when I’m in Costa, and once when I was eating in McDonalds – but 3 times in Costa now and it’s starting to get a tad weird. I shalln’t knock it though, it’s a great track and I hope you enjoy it!

THIS IS THE ONLY VIDEO I COULD FIND :(

This is the day
Of the expanding man
That shape is my shade
There where I used to stand
It seems like only yesterday
I gazed through the glass
At ramblers
Wild gamblers
That’s all in the past

You call me a fool
You say it’s a crazy scheme
This one’s for real
I already bought the dream
So useless to ask me why
Throw a kiss and say goodbye
I’ll make it this time
I’m ready to cross that fine line

CHORUS:
I’ll learn to work the saxophone
I’ll play just what I feel
Drink Scotch whisky all night long
And die behind the wheel
They got a name for the winners in the world
I want a name when I lose
They call Alabama the Crimson Tide
Call me Deacon Blues

My back to the wall
A victim of laughing chance
This is for me
The essence of true romance
Sharing the things we know and love
With those of my kind
Libations
Sensations
That stagger the mind

I crawl like a viper
Through these suburban streets
Make love to these women
Languid and bittersweet
I’ll rise when the sun goes down
Cover every game in town
A world of my own
I’ll make it my home sweet home

CHORUS

This is the night
Of the expanding the man
I take one last drag
As I approach the stand
I cried when I wrote this song
Sue me if I play too long
This brother is free
I’ll be what I want to be

CHORUS

MAKE SURE YOU CHECK OUT FEB 8TH’S POST HERE TO BE IN WITH A CHANCE TO WIN A SUPER COOL PRIZE! – ENDING SOON (23-59 GMT 12th Feb, 2011) LAST DAY TO ENTER!!!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 02 2011
gitikapartington

you are kidding me…we must be on the page somewhere or Deacon Blue was in the ether
did you see my song of the day today????
yes one and the same
have a good day
Gitika

12 02 2011
djbaroque

Wow — I’m not sure what to say, but it’s a shocker – In a very good way. Seriously though, Gitika, what are the chances of this happening!! WOW! This is awesome! Great minds think alike!

Leave a Reply

