A Song A Day: Feb 19th – A Chocolate Story

19 02 2011

Wow! Okay! I’ve not posted this late in a while. I apologise about the late posting today, but I was rather busy in real world (I love that saying, it’s all the real world, but you know what I mean!)

Those of you who read this blog regulary will know that I was heading out for a Chinese lunch buffet yesterday. Me and my GF were actually there first ones there so we got everything as fresh as it could be. The meal was delicious and i’d definitley go again. I hadn’t eaten any Chinese food until recent times, but thanks to Milky, my horizons have been expanded and I’m very grateful for it.

I had a stroke of genius uptown also. I was meeting Milky around 11am, but I was in town for 10. I had a few errands to do and things to check out. Whilst walking around though, I ventured into Thortons to take a look at the chocolate gifts for easter which were coming in. It was there that I saw a chocolate bunny which you could have a name piped onto for free. I knew Milky was coming up today but she had no idea that there were going to be chocolate bunnies involved!

So I had a word with the shopkeeper and she let me keep it out back until after the meal. I knew Milky was going to visit Thortons and Hotel Chocolate, so I was able to surprise her with this chocolate gift with her name on it. The girl in the shop saw me coming and in a wonderful little moment where everything was exchanged without words (it’s true that they say only 96% of communication is verbal) and she brought out the chocolate bunny. Milkys face lit up, and I felt very happy at my little romantic moment!

Anyway, that was yesterday, and this is today. Just lately I’ve been enjoying some of Florence and the Machine. I’m not that big a fan of her work, but the one song Dog Days are Over is pretty catchy and I found it grew on me after a while. I think between this and You Got The Love – you’ve got most bases covered with her. I hope you enjoy this.

Happiness, it hurt like a train on a track
Coming towards her, stuck still no turning back
She hid around corners and she hid under beds
She killed it with kisses and from it she fled
With every bubble she sank with a drink
And washed it away down the kitchen sink

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
The horses are coming so you better run

Run fast for your mother run fast for your father
Run for your children and your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your loving behind you
Can’t carry it with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
Can’t you hear the horses
Cuz here they come

And I never wanted anything from you
Except everything you had
And what was left after that too. oh.

Happiness it hurt like a bullet in the mind
Stuck them up drainpipes
By someone who should know better than that

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
Can you hear the horses
Cuz here they come

Run fast for your mother and fast for your father
Run for your children for your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your loving behind you
Can’t carry it with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
Can you hear the horses because here they come

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
Can you hear the horses because here they come

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 02 2011
Marianne

Daniel, the video played on my email subscription notice. No worries. I heard it. It’s great. It’s the first time I’ve heard them. I love that it has so many different sounds in it. I liked the video also.

20 02 2011
djbaroque

That’s good stuff then, I’m glad that you got to hear it. Thankyou for commenting!

20 02 2011
Marianne

A very romantic gesture, Daniel. Milky is a lucky girl.

I can’t comment on the video though. Says it’s restricted from playback. Too bad.

20 02 2011
djbaroque

It wasn’t even a planned thing, more spur of the moment which worked out very well in the end. Shame I hadn’t thought of it sooner!

Leave a Reply

