A Song A Day: Feb 20th – Lazy Sunday’s

20 02 2011

Nothing beats being lazy on a Sunday. Knowing that there is nothing which needs doing and that you can have the day to yourself more or less is great. I’m looking forward to the sunday roast and the week ahead. It’s a good week coming my way! Pub Quizzage and an invite to Birmingham Hippodrome to meet the technical staff. I’m so very excited!

Todays song is a chilled out, laid-back song which I had no idea exsisted until my friend, known simply as Tid the Kidd introduced me to it. I first heard this song in Second Life (which is where my DJBaroque monkier originated) It was her favourite song. I don’t have much contact with Tid now, mores the pity. In the completely random chance that she reads this blog then you’ll enjoy this one. Midnight at the Oasis has such a superb groove and feel to it. The track lies somewhere between disco and soul for me and a tasty guitar solo/line is the icing on an already great cake. Since I heard this song, I really enjoyed it and it seemed to get catchier and catchier with each subsequent listen. I hope you enjoy this one.

In the week a head, I’ll be posting my second top 10 list (thanks to some suggestions from my Mum of all people, I’ve got a few nice ideas scribbled on a notepad by my bed) I’m also thinking about my next giveaway competition. I’ve got a Wordless Wednesday post to put up, plus hopefully some non-music things depending on how things go. So make sure you subscribe and follow my facebook/twitter to keep up-to-date and notified of when the new content goes up! – See you all tomorrow!

Midnight at the oasis
Send your camel to bed
Shadows paintin’ our faces
Traces of romance in our heads

Heaven’s holdin’ a half-moon
Shinin’ just for us
Let’s slip off to a sand dune, real soon
And kick up a little dust

Come on, Cactus is our friend
He’ll point out the way
Come on, ’til the evenin’ ends
‘Til the evenin’ ends

You don’t have to answer
There’s no need to speak
I’ll be your belly dancer, prancer
And you can be my sheik

[Instrumental Interlude]

I know your Daddy’s a sultan
A nomad known to all
With fifty girls to attend him, they all send him
Jump at his beck and call

But you won’t need no harem, honey
When I’m by your side
And you won’t need no camel, no no
When I take you for a ride

Come on, Cactus is our friend
He’ll point out the way
Come on, ’til the evenin’ ends
‘Til the evenin’ ends

Midnight at the oasis
Send your camel to bed
Got shadows paintin’ our faces
And traces of romance in our heads

Oh, come on…

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 02 2011
Marianne

Daniel, I think I was almost twenty when I began hearing this song. Nice one!

20 02 2011
djbaroque

Transporting you back since 2011!! Thanks for commenting!

20 02 2011
bwinwnbwi

This is some of the music I grew up with–Nice!

20 02 2011
djbaroque

Hooray for nostalgia! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

