A Song A Day: February 21st – The Good ‘Ol Days

21 02 2011

After coming out of the woodwork (at least partly) a very good and dear friend of mine revealed themselves to be, in their own words, stalking my blog. Maybe I’ll get a comment from her one of these days…

Anyway, I’m talking to the same person as I write this, and we’re talking about university times and looking back at some of the happy times we shared. The words ‘Macbook Friday’ might mean something to her. It’s one of my favourite memories of university. It was 2008 IIRC and we were fast approaching the shooting weekend for our latest video project. There were about 8 of us in this production group – later dubbed ‘a crackshot team’ – and we arranged to have a ‘production meeting’ in yates. This involved beer, burgers, ice creams and general goodtimes and tom-foolery. After getting just nicely merry (not drunk, but merry) we rolled into university lecture (and I use that term very loosely – lectures at my university ranged from, sit down and take notes of the board to heres a dvd, i’ll be back in 2 hours via lectures where I’d be hanging on everyword (hell, the lecturer got applause at the end) right up to the sorts of lectures where I’d be relying on red bull to keep me looking awake)

Anyway, where was I… so we rolled into this room and instead of ‘working’ we ended up fooling around with a webcam in a macbook and the photobooth software. It was very good fun, it was Friday afternoon and I think looking back, the blow off before the shoot at the weekend was a good idea in retrospect) — There are a few songs which make me think of university. These range from songs I had playlisted for the commute in, to working in certain rooms and allsorts. I can’t hear Sheep by Pink Floyd or Oxygen by Jean Micheal Jarre without thinking of being in the library at university.

However, neither of the above make up todays post. Instead, i’m going to a song dedicated to ‘my blog stalker’ and all my friends who’ll get this on their facebook feeds! Green Day – Time of Your Life


Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go
So make the best of this test, and don’t ask why
It’s not a question, but a lesson learned in time

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs, and still frames in your mind
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial
For what it’s worth it was worth all the while

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 02 2011
Elaine

Ah, great pick, l love this song. One day I’ll have my own Green Day tune.

23 02 2011
djbaroque

I’m not that big a Green Day fan – but this one is good. Thanks for commenting!

21 02 2011
Marianne

This is a great song, Daniel. I love the lyrics and the melody.
Your university experience sounds like a lot of fun. Good for you! It’s wonderful!

21 02 2011
djbaroque

I’d happily go back and do it again. I always think of the small faces singing ‘I wish i knew what I know now, when I was younger’ – Going back knowing what is involved and doing it again, being in the headspaces and the mindsets would be awesome.

21 02 2011
Marianne

I don’t think I’ve heard that one. Has it been in one of your blog posts?

21 02 2011
djbaroque

It’s not been a blog post yet – but I’ve toyed with the idea.

Leave a Reply

