A Song A Day: Feb 24th

24 02 2011

What a day that was! Those of you who read this blog will know that I was attending a meet and greet at the Birmingham Hippodrome theatre. WOW! We got a backstage tour of all the technical departments and met the tech team, they’re super nice and the tour was an interest from start to end. I’d dressed formally(ish) so I had on smart shoes. We ended up having to climb some stage ladders and what-not to get up onto the walkways above the stage. I worked out it out at about being 32 feet above stage level (if you had vertigo, you’d of been jiggered) Whilst I was up there I was just thinking about phantom of the opera and had visions of a chandelier expecting to come down on a wire, or the phantom lurking in the shadows. Alas, I got neither, but it was all very interesting the same. I think the top top level will be about 50ft, maybe even more above the stage. Incredible feeling/views.

I’m really excited about where this chance can lead next – I have my fingers crossed. Anyway, from an exciting Wednesday to a simple Thursday. I was going to post POtO, but remembered that I had posted the Nightwish version a short while back. So for inspiration I looked at the highlight of my day, which will be watching the football with my Dad. It’s the 2nd leg of a European game in the UEFA cup at Anfield (for those of you who don’t follow football, big game at liverpool) — Me and Dad are both Liverpool FC followers, and have been for a long time. To be fair though, as long as it’s a good game, I don’t mind watching other teams. I’m not one of these people who hate on other teams. Maybe the odd player will get a bit of a bashing (Fernandon’t Torres!)

The song most associated with the club is You’ll Never Walk Alone. Gerry and the Pacemakers have the most well known version and it’s sung before, after and several times during each game. When the Kop end get’s in voice, it’s a sound that stirs and invigorates the senses. It makes the hairs stand on end. The song was originally intended for a musical, but ended up being adopted by football afterwards. The song carries a strong message – though your dreams be tossed and blown… walk on… walk on with hope in your heart. It’s one of those songs, along with REM’s everybody hurts that no matter when I hear it, it makes me happy and if I’m feeling down, it helps cheer me up. So tonight when the football is on, I’ll be humming away happily to myself inside!

When you walk through a storm
Hold your head up high
And don’t be afraid of the dark

At the end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of the lark

Walk on through the wind
Walk on through the rain
Though your dreams be tossed and blown

Walk on walk on with hope in your heart
And you’ll never walk alone
You’ll never walk alone

When you walk through a storm
Hold your head up high
And don’t be afraid of the dark

At the end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of the lark

Walk on through the wind
Walk on through the rain
Though your dreams be tossed and blown

Walk on walk on with hope in your heart
And you’ll never walk alone
You’ll never walk

You’ll never walk
You’ll never walk alone.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 02 2011
Marianne

Well, that’s a nice bit of nostalgia, Daniel. Loved it!

25 02 2011
djbaroque

Glad you enjoyed it – Like I said, this is one song guaranteed to put a smile on my face.

24 02 2011
therunninggarlic

Sounds like an excellent day … I can feel your excitement :-)

24 02 2011
djbaroque

Then I’m doing something right!

24 02 2011
Adam Bird

I went to Anfield back in 06 for a stadium tour, but have never seen a match. Although I have managed to watch them in London quite a few times, but it’s not the same. One of those things on my list of “must do before I die!”

24 02 2011
djbaroque

Visit Anfield is on my bucket list also – I’d love to go there with my Dad.

Leave a Reply

