The 30 Day Song Challenge – 1/30 – Your Favourite Song

1 03 2011

And it begins! Throughout March I’m going to be taking part in the 30 day song challenge. I saw this on facebook the other day and thought it was too much fun not to pass up. However, tonight, I’ve seen another 30 day song challenge, with better and more interesting guidelines, so I’m going to undertake that one isntead! Each day has a different reason or pointer if you like – and the idea is that you post a song which fits the bill therewithin. At the top of this page there is a button which takes you to a page containing all the pointers or guides if you like.

The 30 day challenge kicks off with music question 101. What is your favourite song? Before I really gave it much thought, I argued with myself is there a difference between song and ‘piece of music’ I think that there is, but for the sake of this challenge I won’t get that deep!

My favourite song/piece of music has been with me since I first heard it as a child and since then I’ve fell in love with it. It’s a piece of classical music, and I credit this piece with getting me into the genre properly. I’m a very big fan of classical music, and grew up around it somewhat. I’ve grown up with this piece of music and I think I’ve played it at least once on every stereo I could. Even when I had my 1st system (which was essentially a single deck tape player with a built in fm/am radio, the portable ones) right up now to my CD/DAB Panasonic system. Car stereos, to kitchen stereos to walkmans and iPods, it’s been played on them all.

I’ve had the upmost pleasure of seeing it performed live by a full orchestra with live cannon fire and musket fire. That in itself is an experience. The sheer volume and power of the explosions, pyro and fires is stunning. I am of course talking about Tchaikovskies 1812 Overture. The way the piece builds in drama, tension and dynamics is incredible, absolutely second to none. The last 5 minutes or so (the finale section) is just this huge fanfare of orchestral brilliance. Every instrument throughout this great song plays wonderful lines, and the way they all work together as the piece builds never ceases to amaze me. I often feel shivers go down my spine as this piece plays out. Put simply, I can think of no better piece to call my favourite.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 04 2011
Simply Spectacular – A Preview Of Classical Spectacular 2011 « My 2011 Music Diary

[…] my all time favourite piece of music – The 1812 Overture. However, when classical spectacular performs the 1812. They. Perform. […]

10 03 2011
Marianne

Very robust sounding! I liked it.

10 03 2011
djbaroque

I’m hoping that classical spectacular this year performs this piece again! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

