The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 5/30: Your favorite female singer.

5 03 2011

I’ve had an absolutely brilliant 24 hours. After getting to sleep at a time which I’ve not done since being at university (thanks to getting lost in a video project…watch the blog this month) I’ve been baking cakes, shopping, spending time with Milky and more!

Day 5 on the 30 day challenge asks me to post up a song by my favourite female singer. This was actually a lot easier then I imagined it to be. I was pretty damn sure of who my favourite was, and the more I hear of her and see of her, the more I fall in love with her voice and her ability. Normally for each day, I put up a video of the song so you can watch -and/or- listen to the song. Today it’s with added importance that I urge you to watch. I chose this specific performance after some light tracking down on youtube because I think it really embodies and encapsulates her power, her gracefulness and her passion which she pours into every song and performance. The way she starts floating around from just before the 4 minute mark is so graceful and incredible. This was to become one of her trademark stage moves, and it’s just an absolute joy to watch. Not only that, but the rest of the band are on absolute fire here performing Rhiannon. They extend the track and go into ‘jam’ mode and the results are just incredible. The way Stevie belts out the lyrics towards the end is just…I don’t even think there is a word to describe it.

It is with little doubt that my favourite female singer has to be Steve Nicks. Check out Rhiannon, Gold Dust Women, Edge of Seventeen, Rooms On Fire and Landslide for some more golden Stevie moments.

Rhiannon rings like a bell thru the night
And wouldn’t you love to love her
She rules her life like a bird in flight
And who will be her lover…

All your life you’ve never seen
A woman–taken by the wind
Would you stay if she promised you heaven
Will you ever win…

She is like a cat in the dark
And then she is the darkness
She rules her life like a fine skylark–
And when the sky is starless–

All your life you’ve never seen–
A woman–taken by the wind
Would you stay if she promised you heaven
Will you ever win…

Dreams unwind.
Love’s a state of mind.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!


Actions

Information

13 responses

5 03 2011
Marianne

That was a great performance by Fleetwood Mac. Really enjoyed that one. Thank you, Daniel.

5 03 2011
djbaroque

I think this might just be the greatest performance, or at least one of them by Flettwood Mac. I was glad that I found the uncut version of this to post up on the blog. Thanks for commenting.

5 03 2011
30 Day Song Challenge – Day 5 -My favourite female singer « Delancey

[…] been on a local radio station a couple of times recently which was a reminder of her talent.)  Dan has already picked Stevie Nicks (the song he chose was an eye-opener for me even though I knew she was good.)  Before this turns […]

5 03 2011
Silky Sienna

I like Fleetwood Mac – they were in their peak while I was in highschool- but this is my least favorite song. I like the ending powerful vocals and jamming on this, but the words “Rhianna” always just sorts annoyed the hell outa me. She was definately known for her floaty gowns, but I had a friend who fashioned herself a hippy for years/decades after the movement collapsed, and even in 1997 she had this above dress and was photographed with her adopted greyhound and gave the pic out- she was still wearing a buckskin jacket with fringe from the 70’s that was outdated, and one day, when she was 37 years old, I realized she had the same haircut as when she was 12 years old. It kinda creeped me out. I love the song done with a marching band, Tusk, or something? I need to find that. I want to see it again.

5 03 2011
djbaroque

I wasn’t even born when the ‘Mac were at the peak, but discovered their music afterwards thanks to a wonderful legacy. Her look was such a part of the band and of her, I’d be surprised to see her stray too far away from it. The marching band performance you mention was from the ’97 reunion (IIRC) called The Dance. Thanks for commenting!

5 03 2011
Jingles

who sing this song, the lines are interesting, I try to make a beautiful tune on it with my guitar.

5 03 2011
djbaroque

Stevie Nicks (Fleetwood Mac)

5 03 2011
caseymichelle12

Stevie Nicks is so pretty!

5 03 2011
djbaroque

She was absolutely! Thanks for commenting.

5 03 2011
Delancey

Wow. I knew she was good but you’re right, this really shows how she could (can?) really belt it out. I’ve only ever heard the album version, its going to be pale in comparison to this. Thanks for sharing it!

5 03 2011
djbaroque

I saw a version on a BBC4 documentary, which I was blown away with. I managed to track it down on youtube and post it here. I think it is the best version of this song I’ve even seen. I almost posted Gold Dust Woman from ‘The Dance’ but, side by side, this won out for obvious reasons.

5 03 2011
jenniferlala

I love her outfits, and the way she dances. Classic. Rhiannon and Landslide are my favorites of all time.

5 03 2011
djbaroque

Her movements are just simply mesmerising. I’m totally in love with her in this video.

Leave a Reply

