The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 6/30: Your favorite band.

6 03 2011

I want to thank everyone who reads this blog and supports it, I hit 100 views, so that was very nice! Now, just to make freshly pressed one day! Yeah, I can dream haha!

The 30 day song challenge continues forward with the another one of the music questions 101 type posts with ‘your favourite band’  There is no deliberation or thinking involved here, as I’m pretty sure in my mind of who said band is. Without a shadow of a doubt it has to be Pink Floyd.

I’d first come across the Floyd during year 6 at school when I heard time. The roto-tom intro had me hooked (I’m always taken by instrumentals/instrumental passages) – so much so that I tracked a copy on CD down via my Dad’s workmate. I taped the drum intro and gave the CD back!! Looking back on it, I’m amazed that I did that and what I missed out on.

I really started getting into them full on heavily during my college days when I discovered an EPK lurking in the library about The Wall concerts staged in 1980-1981. That was the catalyst in my floyd obession as such, and I’m so very glad that I found it. Pink Floyd’s music has since become the soundtrack to my life somewhat and it’s no doubt changed me as a person. Just like the post the other day about Freddie Mercury, there is little more (if absolutely nothing more) I can say about Pink Floyd which hasn’t already been said. Considering how much I love this band, I could talk and talk until the cows come home, so to save myself I’m going to stop here and let the music do the rest. The song choice was almost impossible, but in the end I’ve decided to go for the ending part from ‘A Saucerful of Secrets’ which is known as Celestial Voices. It’s one of their earlier masterpieces (4 years before Dark Side) but this version from the legendary Pompeii concerts is the definitive version for me, this performance, this music, this footage, this editing, everything. To me… this is perfection.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

8 responses

6 03 2011
Marianne

Enjoyed this one too, Daniel. I’m not sure why, but I didn’t get into Pink Floyd music much when I grew up. One time, I remember going to an Alice Cooper performance. It was held in an outdoor stadium with everyone tripping around the turf while the music played, if you know what I mean. I listened to Led Zeppelin, Jethro Tull, and a few other bands of which their names elude me right now.

6 03 2011
djbaroque

I know exactly what you mean. I’m a rocker at heart and I do enjoy this proggy bands like the ones you list above. Thanks for commenting!

6 03 2011
Silky Sienna

I agree whole heartedly- perfection. It also sums up a feeling of that time, but it also takes me back even further…to being a little girl alone in the back yard in spring, cool new fresh breezes scented by daffodils, swinging and trying to touch the sky with my feet above my head…
Pink Floyd – it does a Head good!

6 03 2011
djbaroque

Daily dose of vitamin Floyd eh? I love your vivid description of how it makes you feel. You can really let yourself soar on this music.

6 03 2011
jenniferlala

Please! That would be fun, and perhaps you have one or two favorites that someone like myself have not heard of and would like to try out. Cheers!

6 03 2011
djbaroque

I’m now strongly tempted!

6 03 2011
jenniferlala

Do you have a list of all-time favorite bands? Just curious. You made me think about writing mine down, just for fun.

6 03 2011
djbaroque

I don’t have it written down, but if I had to think about it, I could come up with it pretty easily – future blog post maybe?

Leave a Reply

