The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 8: One band/singer whose popularity you will never understand.

8 03 2011

After a non-event yesterday, the 30 day song challenge, continues forward with a post who’s popularity you’ll never understand. I think no matter who I post today, I’m going to split people, but that’s just the nature of the beast. Unlike yesterday, I can think of ideas for this.

Whilst there are a couple of artists I can think off, the one that really sticks out like a sore thumb is Radiohead. I’ve never got why people rave about them, they’ve got a handful of good songs if I’m being generous. I’ve tried to get into them, but they just don’t do it for me. It also bugs me a lot when people say they are the modern day Pink Floyd. That is a total load of nonsense. There are things that the Floyd have done which Radiohead can only dream about. If Johnny Greenwood call pull out a solo that rivals Gilmour, then I might be more believing. I’m not saying Thom Yorke and co. aren’t bad song-writers, but I’ve never felt the lyrics deep inside me. I can’t say I’ve felt connected to their music all that much.

People have said OK Computer is the Dark Side of the Moon for the 90’s – I don’t believe that for one moment, I normally challenge that if I hear it. I remember sending an e-mail to the DJ on Planet Rock when he said Paranoid Android was on a par with Bohemian Rhapsody. It also bugs me when OK Computer gets high places in those oft-wrote Best Album lists. I’ve heard OK Computer. There is no way on earth it stacks up to other albums around it in those lists such as Sgt. Peppers, Dark Side, London Callling, Pet Sounds, Plastic Ono Band, Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars etc.

I can respect them for experimenting and trying new things, but sometimes I feel like they’re trying too hard. There’s a fine line between experimentation and self-indulgence, and Radiohead blur that boundary.

However, I’m not totally anti-radiohead. They do have some great songs, don’t get me wrong. Tracks like Street Spirit, High and Dry, Fake Plastic Trees and Just… Hmm, it’s interesting that all the above song are from The Bends…

Either way… The one band whose popularity I’ll never understand…Radiohead.

When you were here before
Couldn’t look you in the eye
You’re just like an angel
Your skin makes me cry
You float like a feather
In a beautiful world
I wish I was special
You’re so fucking special

But I’m a creep
I’m a weirdo
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here

I don’t care if it hurts
I want to have control
I want a perfect body
I want a perfect soul
I want you to notice when I’m not around
You’re so fucking special
I wish I was special

But I’m a creep
I’m a weirdo
What the hell I’m doing here?
I don’t belong here

She’s running out the door
She’s running out
She runs runs runs

Whatever makes you happy
Whatever you want
You’re so fucking special
I wish I was special

But I’m a creep
I’m a weirdo
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here
I don’t belong here

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

6 responses

9 03 2011
jenniferlala

Good cheekbones and pretty hair? Nice singing lips for both bands…..

9 03 2011
djbaroque

Part of me wants to look like this inside… Thanks for commenting

8 03 2011
Delancey

I’m not much into Radiohead either, but this song I am very into :) I like Planet Telex too, as well as the songs you mentioned. Found this about it: “The only song written in the studio during the Bends sessions, it was recorded one night when the band returned to the studio after drinking a lot of wine. Thom did the vocals lying down, completely drunk.” Ooo how edgy. Maybe I should record my drunk singing and get a record deal!

8 03 2011
djbaroque

You’ve only got their word for that though. I could say I did the vocals whilst hanging upside down from my porch dressed as spiderman. I’d like to think though that with Radiohead and Thom Yorkes actions it would be honest. Creep is a decent song. I love Bill Bailey doing it on his Tinselworm DVD…in Banghra/Bollywood style!

8 03 2011
j00ls

I don’t think it takes too much mental capacity to understand why they are often compared to the floyd, but probably a little more than i can be bothered with!

8 03 2011
djbaroque

I see very little comparasions, but maybe that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

