The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 9: A song that reminds you of an ex.

9 03 2011

The 30 Day Song Challenge continues futher onwards with a song that reminds me of an ex. Interestingly enough, that limits my choices to songs about 1 person, and to be honest, I’ve not had anything to do with her for a while now. What was a bitter breakup has now settled and we’ve gone our own ways, seeking our own adventures, plotting our own courses and charting our own waters. I saw her in passing the other day in town, and she was looking well, so that’s a positive point.

I shouldn’t be all bitter though. There were some good times in the relationship, and I’ll give her her due, she’s great with the old pencil and paper. I’m a little pressed for time as I write this because it’s racing towards midnight, and I have an earlier start tomorrow. So I’m going to let the song do the talking. This song was one that both me and the ex enjoyed. It’s a classic rock staple. Actually, in more recent times, the band has released some very good music, with No Stone Unturned being a shining example.

Today’s song is The Final Countdown by Europe

We’re leaving together,
But still it’s farewell
And maybe we’ll come back,
To earth, who can tell ?
I guess there is no one to blame
We’re leaving ground
Will things ever be the same again?

It’s the final countdown…

We’re heading for Venus and still we stand tall
Cause maybe they’ve seen us and welcome us all
With so many light years to go and things to be found
I’m sure that we’ll all miss her so.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 03 2011
Marianne

Wow, the crowd went wild in that video. That’s a band I don’t think I’ve heard before. Good strong voices I think.

10 03 2011
djbaroque

They didn’t have much memorable success outside of this song, so much so, sometimes they’re referred to as one hit wonders, but their last look at eden album was very good! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

