The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 14: A song from the year you were born.

14 03 2011

The 30 day song challenge moves forward with a song from the year you were born. When I think of 1988, not a lot springs to mind. Why couldn’t I of been born in ’73 or ’77? Some damn fine music came out those years!

However, thanks to the superb resource that is Wikipedia I got a good overview of the year in music. There were several choices that could of made it onto the blog, but the one that really jumped out at me was INXS – Never Tear Us Apart.

INXS are a great band and I remember hearing their greatest hits album a lot as a child in the car. Audio Casettes (remember those) ? – they introduced me to some great music.  This specific song ‘never tear us apart’ is possibly my favourite INXS song along with Baby Don’t Cry. The lyrics are simple, the music good and the melody strong. I like the orchestral backing also.

I was also meant to be posting a top 10 films post today also, but due to time constraints, I’ve not had time to finish it in the way I wanted, so I’ll have to look at it again some time. In the meantime, enjoy the music of INXS. This song also makes me think of Milky. The lyrics ‘two worlds collided, and they could never tear us apart’ make me think of the time I first met Milky and saw her. I still think fondly upon the fact that we’re born on opposite sides of the world, in different cultures and ways of life, different soceities and civilisations, and we meet in the most unlikely of places!!! Life is full of wonderful surprises!

Don’t ask me
What you know is true
Don’t have to tell you
I love your precious heart

I……….I was standing
You were there
Two worlds collided
And they could never tear us apart

We could live for a thousand years
But if I hurt you
I’d make wine from your tears

I told you
That we could fly
Cause we all have wings
But some of us don’t know why

I……….I was standing
You were there
Two worlds collided
And they could never…ever…tear us apart

I don’t ask me
I was standing
You know it’s true
You were there
Worlds collided
Two worlds collided
We’re shining through
And they could never tear us apart

You don’t ask me
You were standing
You know it’s true
I was there
Worlds collided
Two worlds collided
We’re shining through
And they could never tear us apart

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

6 responses

15 03 2011
Marianne

Sorry Daniel, can’t seem to listen to the video. For some reason it won’t work.

Meeting Milky sounds very romantic. She is a lucky girl.

15 03 2011
djbaroque

I know – It’s a year today! I feel so honoured and blessed

14 03 2011
Delancey

This is one of my favourite songs ever. Great lyrics which fit perfectly with the music.. one pretty epic love song imo.

15 03 2011
djbaroque

INXS were just that damn good.

14 03 2011
Elaine

Well, I don’t feel so bad now for only managing to meet half the challenge!

I’m waiting… :-)

14 03 2011
djbaroque

Yes… I’ll get it up in the next few days. Been a few hard days in RL.

Leave a Reply

