The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 15: A song you liked in high school.

15 03 2011

Freedom Fighters...

Oh heck! Great topic choice today – There was lots of great musical memories for me at school, many of which I discovered. From hearing Linkin Park screaming ‘Crawlin, to Limp Bizkit Rollin’ their way to number 1, to discovering bands like The Music and Maroon 5. During my school days, there was the whole greb vs. townie debate (which side was you on, which was basically metal vs. hip hop) although I pretty much did my own thing as far as music was concerned.

I remember someone in my tutor asking me what I was listening too and I replied ZZ Top, to which his resposne was ‘why do you always listen to bands no-one has heard off’? People often didn’t get my taste in music, they were confused with how I could bring a couple of CD’s to listen to during IT and the walk to and from my house but they could be so varied. Seemingly carrying CD’s by Tchikovsky and System of a Down at the same time was a ‘does not compute’ moment.

I could go on forever about music and secondary school here, but I fear I may wonder off topic and digress way too much. So the song that I’m going to post up here today is a song by a ‘where are they now’ band called The Music called Freedom Fighters. It’s a solid no frills rock track with a great guitar riff. I should really go back and listen to ‘Welcome To The North’ which was the album this track came from.

I don’t know
Why these people can’t get it on
And what you didn’t know
That its just people having fun, yeah

I thought that there was something going wrong with me
I thought that everyone in this life should be free
But now I’m feeling lost and something here is wrong
Would you come and let me sing to people
Come and help me sing this song

Dance for the freedom
Fighters of the world
Feel the walls
She’s real real love
They don’t love you
They love you on your way
I don’t love you babe though
It’s ok

Yeah

In this rain
It makes it harder than it needs to be
What you didn’t know
That is it always gonna stay this way, yeah

I thought that there was something going wrong with me
I thought that everyone in this life should be free
But now I’m feeling lost and something here is wrong
Would you come and let me sing to people
Come and help me sing this song

Dance for the freedom
Fighters of the world
Feel the walls
She’s real real love
They don’t love you
They love you on your way
I don’t love you babe though
It’s ok

Dance for the freedom
Fighters of the world
Feel the walls
She’s real real love
They don’t love you
They love you on your way
I don’t love you babe though
It’s ok

Its just another song yeah
Nah nah nah no

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

