The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 16: The first song in your mp3 folder.

16 03 2011

I have a confession to make, the computer I’m using is rather new, and as of yet I’ve not got my MP3’s on here. I have come up with a reasonable solution though. To get the song for this post, I’m going to open spotify, look at the page where it has all my playlisted songs and choose entry #1. The list is in alphabetical order as I believe so expect something beginning with A!

It seems that spotify lists punctuation and numbers first, so to cut a long story short, entry #1 is ’39 by Queen.

I’m actually pretty chuffed that this is the song for today. I’m a huge Queen fan, and this song is one of their best. I don’t think Queen made a bad album (yes, that includes hot space) – and 39 was taken from A Night At The Opera, one of the finest rock albums. This is the 2nd track from that album during this challenge now that I think about it. Hey! That’s no bad thing.

This song is about a man who goes off in a spaceship to encounter distant lands, he returns thinking that only a few years have passed, when in fact hundreds of years have passed to the people back home (obviously due to time dilation within the space time continuwhatsit – I never watched Star Trek!!)

Also… the 15th March marked the one year anniversary of me and Milky, so I’m hyper chuffed at that. Words cannot express how i’m feeling right now – i feel blessed, lucky beyond words and i’m deeply grateful to have met her. I do believe that she’s the one – anyway… I digress way too much on this blog, and I’ve gone into detail about Milky before! I’ll shut up now, and let you enjoy this marvellous song.

In the year of thirty-nine
Assembled here the volunteers
In the days when lands were few
Here the ship sailed out into the blue and sunny morn
The sweetest sight ever seen
And the night followed day
And the story tellers say
That the score brave souls inside
For many a lonely day
Sailed across the milky seas
Ne’er looked back never feared never cried

Don’t you hear my call
Though you’re many years away
Don’t you hear me calling you
Write your letters in the sand
For the day I’ll take your hand
In the land that our grand-children knew

In the year of thirty-nine
Came a ship in from the blue
The volunteers came home that day
And they bring good news
Of a world so newly born
Though their hearts so heavily weigh
For the earth is old and grey
little darlin’ well away
But my love this cannot be
Oh so many years have gone
Though i’m older but a year
Your mother’s eyes from your eyes cry to me

Don’t you hear my call
Though you’re many years away
Don’t you hear me calling you
Write your letters in the sand
For the day I’ll take your hand
In the land that our grand-children knew

Don’t you hear my call
Though you’re many years away
Don’t you hear me calling you
All your letters in the sand
Cannot heal me like your hand
For my life’s still ahead, pity me.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 03 2011
Marianne

That was a nice sing-a-long song, Daniel.

Congratulations to you and Milky on your one year anniversary. Hope there is many more to come.

18 03 2011
djbaroque

It’s infectious I tell you! Fingers crossed we do have more… maybe in a few years time, something else!

Leave a Reply

