The 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 17: The last song in your mp3 folder.

17 03 2011

Today, I’m on my iMac unlike yesterday, where I have all my music stored, so I can fire up iTunes to look at what is listed as the final song in my MP3 folder. It would seem that iTunes works differently to Spotify and puts songs beginning with numbers at the bottom of the list, which means today’s song is 10538 Overture by Electric Light Orchestra. This song is on the Life On Mars TV Soundtrack album, which is a damn fine 70’s rock compilation essentially, inter dispersed with snippets of dialogue from the show.

I don’t have much to say about this piece of music, other then that, on name value, I didn’t know it was ELO. I was more familiar with the Mr. Blue Sky/Sweet Talkin’ Woman sound of ELO. I have to say though, that its a good song. It took a few listens for it to grow on me, but I’ve come to like it. They have a pretty sizeable back catalogue now also, well worth checking out some of their songs, they’re a good group.

Did you see your friend crying from his eyes today
Did you see him run through the streets and far away
Aah
Did you see him run, did you see him fall
Did his life flash by at the bedroom door

Did you hear the news it came across the air today
Someone has been found on the rocks down in the bay
Ahhh
Did you see him hide, did you see him crawl
Does his life mean more than it did before

Did you see that man running through the streets today
Did you catch his face, was it 10538
Ahhhh

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!


Actions

Information

2 responses

18 03 2011
Marianne

I remember listening to this ELO tune a long long time ago. I went to my hair stylist today and she gave me a “shag” cut. She said the style is back now. I had a “shag” when I was in my teens and early twenties. Actually, I kinda like it. Makes me look younger. lol!

18 03 2011
djbaroque

There’s a joke in there somewhere!!! I can see it, but I’ll refrain from making it. This is one of the lesser known ELO tunes to myself. Good song still though.

Leave a Reply

