A Jasmine Flower for you this Sunday

20 03 2011

It’s sunday once again which means it’s a day to relax, take it steady, drink that extra cup of tea you promised yourself in bed and think about tucking into a nice sunday roast. Seeing as it’s a day of ease I think the music should follow this.

I was torn between posting this, and a jazz song by Miles Davis which is essential Sunday music in my opinion. But I decided to go for Jasmine Flower, which is a piece of traditional Chinese folk music. I nearly posted this song in January originally but kept opting for other choices in the end.

I discovered this piece of music whilst I was browsing for some chinese guitar tabs. I found a song called jasmine, called it up, and started playing the tab with no real structure or form, playing in what they call free time. I had a musical life-changing concert when I saw Tommy Emmanuel and it made me look at and hear music in a different way. No doubt his version of Michelle by The Beatles sub-consciously inspired my guitar musings that day.

Irregardless of how I play it, the piece of music is simplygorgeous. It has a quintessential Chinese sound which I fell in love with. I remember showing Milky the way I play it, and she said it was all wrong, but it was my way of playing it. Her words were ‘not sound correct, but in just a different ‘tone”

I should point out here that Milky is sat beside me at the moment and as such helped me pick out the performance of Jasmine below. I thankyou for your help my darling!!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 03 2011
Marianne

Beautiful instrumental, Daniel. Very talented musicians also. Thank you for sharing on this day of ease (I like that).

20 03 2011
djbaroque

It’s Sunday. Ease is the word of the day!

Leave a Reply

