A Song A Day – March 22nd: Life Could Be A Dream

22 03 2011

Today’s song poses a statement that ‘life could be a dream’ – This statement got me thinking about dreams. No, not the fleetwood mac song but those funny things we have at night. I have to say, I rarely remember any of mine, which makes me wonder do I even have them?! I think because I’m a deep heavy sleeper they slip me past without me being aware of them, and only a handful get through. Like any good dreams, the ones that I have normally are pretty random and usually are often surreal. I’ve done the whole dream analysis business by looking up what certain things mean. I think that there is little depth in that, and it makes me wonder if it’s just someone somewhere having some fun by making this stuff up, and being happy that we believe in it.

However, I think that dreams serve an important purpose in life. They give us something to look forward too. There are different types of dreams. Those that we encounter at the night time and then those that we work towards, our aspirations if you will. We look forward to hopefully making those a reality one day. I’m a firm believer in that we all need something to look forward too, irregardless of how small, large, esoteric, unique, weird etc. It’s good for us!

Anyway, pontification mode disable and music mode re-enabiling… Todays song is actually by a group called The Overtones, which perform close part vocal harmonies similar to barbershop quartets and classic music from a bygone time…except they’re a current band. It was my Pub Quiz DJ/Quizmaster which got me into them! The man’s got taste!! The track today is the first track on their current album Good Ol’ Fashioned Love. The full title is Sh Boom (Life Could Be A Dream) – and is a cover of The Crewcuts original.

The song is infectiously catchy and oh-so-foot-tappingly-awesome (if i can use that kind of technical termonology with you)

Life could be a dream, life could be a dream
Do, do, do, do, sh-boom

Life could be a dream (sh-boom)
If I could take you up in paradise up above (sh-boom)
If you would tell me I’m the only one that you love
Life could be a dream, sweetheart
Hello, hello again, sh-boom and hopin’ we’ll meet again

Bom ba,
Hey nonny ding dong, alang alang alang
Oh oh oh oh dip, a dibby dobby dip

Oh, life could be a dream (sh-boom)
If only all my precious plans would come true (sh-boom)
If you would let me spend my whole life lovin’ you (sh-boom)
Life could be a dream, sweetheart (do do do do sh-boom)

Every time I look at you
Something’s on my mind
If you do what I want you to
Baby, we’d be so fine!

Oh, life could be a dream (sh-boom)
If I could take you up in paradise up above (sh-boom)
And tell me darling I’m the only one that you love
Life could be a dream, sweetheart
Hello, hello again, sh-boom and hopin’ we’ll meet again

Bom ba,
Hey nonny ding dong, alanga langala langala langala
Oh oh dip, a dibby dobby dip
Oh, life could be a dream, life could be a dream sweetheart

Do do do do sh-boom
Do do do do sh-boom
Do do do do sh-boom
Do do do do sh-boom
Za be ba da
Dip da de da dip ba di
Woah oh
Zo be ba be be ba bi
Woah
Zo be ba be be ba

Oh, life could be a dream (sh-boom)
If I could take you up in paradise up above (sh-boom)
And tell me darling I’m the only one that you love
Life could be a dream, sweetheart
Hello, hello again, sh-boom and hopin’ we’ll meet again

Oh, life could be a dream (sh-boom)
If I could take you up in paradise up above (sh-boom)
And tell me darling I’m the only one that you love
Life could be a dream, sweetheart
Hello, hello again, sh-boom and hopin’ we’ll meet again

Bom ba
Hey nonny ding dong, alangala langala langala langala (sh-boom)
Oh oh dip a dibby dobby dip
Life could be a dream
Life could be a dream
Do do do do sh-boom

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 04 2011
Marianne

I agree, Daniel, we do need things to look forward to. As a child growing up in a stressful environment, I never had dreams, but that’s changing now, thank goodness.

Love the music, it is happy and upbeat.

3 04 2011
djbaroque

It’s some of the best new music that i’ve heard for a while. It’s good to hear that you have some dreams now – The album follows suit to this track, highly recommended

22 03 2011
Elaine

Great minds think alike. I was also thinking about doing a post on dreams. I dream so much I’m not sure I in fact sleep at all. The last memorable one was about being possessed. I thought that was worth a post!

22 03 2011
djbaroque

You should totally go for it!

Leave a Reply

