A Song A Day: March 25th – I’m here, it’s now, and I feel fine!

25 03 2011

I first came across todays offering whilst I was a DJ in Second Life. A fellow DJ (and reader of this blog) would often play this song and it grew on me slowly but surely. I got him to send me the MP3, and since then it’s been on the iPod and had decent play rotation.

It’s a very upbeat song, with a heavy slab of feel good factor. You get a carnival feel coming from it in my opinion. I’m still waiting for this song to come up on Strictly Come Dancing (Dancing with the Stars to USA Folks) — it’s a surprise they’ve not used it yet. We got Mr. Pinstripe Suit by Big Bad Voodoo Daddy on there last year, so not all bad I guess.

The track is called Cellophane (although I thought i’d be called ‘I feel fine’ because of the way chorus is played out and sung etc) and is by a guy called Ashley Slater. Get out your swinging shoes for this one!

I am lying lying flat out on my back and light is shining
light is shining from your eyes
and the darkness all around me like a cloak of velvet deep and soft
seductive I could slip into a fold
then I’m blinded blinded by the memory of events recent
recently I realise something’s changing, changing in my world cause
I’m not feeling quite the way I used to feel when I was in control
I start to lose it. I hear the crackling of the flames but I’m wrong you
know, it’s only cellophane.
it’s you unwrapping a chocolate box and smiling sweetly through my
haze, like an angel, standing watching through my windowpane
hey there mister standing over by the door could you take a minute to
turn this water into wine cos I’m here, it’s now and I feel fine.
how did I get here, here is where I never thought I’d be but thinking,
evidently this is me.
many questions racing round my brain like crazy greyhounds chasing
after rubber rabbits never to grab hold
I start to lose it. I hear the crackling of the flames but I’m wrong you
know, it’s only cellophane. it’s you unwrapping a pack of cigarettes
and offering them around like the angel, coming crashing through my
windowpane
hey there mister standing over by the door could you take a minute to
turn this water into wine. well I’m here it’s now and I feel fine.
and if I lose it and hear the crackling of the flames, well just remind
me please, it’s only cellophane it’s you unwrapping a shiny gun to hold
directly to my brain like an angel, you came crawling through my
windowpane
hey there mister standing over by the door could you take a minute to
turn this water into wine cos I’m here it’s now and I feel fine.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 03 2011
Kattsby

Hey … I’ve been doing the Daily Post from the get-go, and had NO idea about this Facebook group. Thank you!

29 03 2011
djbaroque

The group is very cool – The chat there is great and there’s a real sense of community!

Leave a Reply

