Simply Spectacular – A Preview Of Classical Spectacular 2011

5 04 2011

Following on from yesterday’s classical music offering I had some good news. The Classical Spectacular concert will be returning to Birmingham in December. This is superb news (even though I knew it was already coming back, but now I have a date!) I’ve been several times before, but last year was the first time in several years that I’d attended. I’d forgotten just how…well…spectacular the concert was.

Take several hours worth of classical music, add in some good old pieces of English Patriotism (Pomp & Circumstance March No.1/Land Of Hope & Glory, Rule Britannia) and choreograph it all to lasers, lights, smoke machines, pyrotechnics and more, thus producing a light show which would of rivalled Pink Floyd back in the day. I’ve seen the lineup for this years performance and I have to say that it looks absolutely cracking.

Some highlights include:

  • Fanfare For The Common Man
  • William Tell Overture
  • In The Hall Of The Mountain King
  • Swan Lake (Finale)
  • Habanera
  • Nessun Dorma

and… my all time favourite piece of music – The 1812 Overture. However, when classical spectacular performs the 1812. They. Perform. The. 1812. This would make it the 3rd time I’ve seen it live. Naturally, to anyone who’s ever heard the finale of the 1812 knows they hit one hell of a forte therewithin. Now take this and put the orchestra right in front of you giving it all they’ve got. Add in the previously mentioned light show… and top it off with some extremely loud pyrotechnic explosions and some flames for good measure. Now you can see why I’m excited about this.

Here’s a preview of the sort of thing you get:

I’m hoping to get down the front somewhere and take my camera to try and get some photos/videos. It should be a great night. I’m really looking forward to it!

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 04 2011
Marianne

Oh my gosh, that was spectacular! Incredible light show!!

7 04 2011
djbaroque

The video doesn’t really do it justice!

5 04 2011
elaine

Wow, that’s something else. the explosions are fantastic. In another clip, I’m sure I saw men with guns… Looks like quite a night out, have fun :)

5 04 2011
djbaroque

Yes, last year we have live cannon fire and ‘men with guns’ – muskets to be exact. The noise and spectacle was stupdendous!

Leave a Reply

