A Song A Day: April 12th – One Day Like This…

12 04 2011

Drinking in the morning sun...

Occasionally a song comes along seemingly out of nowhere and it sounds totally timeless, fresh and just absolutely bang on the money it makes you wonder what you did before it came to stay. Todays song is a prime example of this.

The chances are that you’ve heard this tune in some capacity. It’s been used on television an absolute truck-load of times, usually for when they want some uplifiting, happy or inspirational music. Even after the numerous plays, this song doesn’t depreciate one little bit.

The song has an absolute huge sound. Grandiose orchestra backings throughout, a colossal-sized chorus and ending. This is the kind of song which is the sound of summer and hot sunny days. It’s melodic, uplifting and anthemic. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to fully express the awesomeness of this song. Just sit back and enjoy, close your eyes and let it wash over you.

Today, I present to you… One Day Like This by Elbow. The video below is a live rendition done for the BBC, it’s just pure brilliance. God has this on his walkman for sure.

Drinking in the morning sun
Blinking in the morning sun
Shaking off the heavy one
Heavy like a loaded gun

What made me behave that way?
Using words I never say
I can only think it must be love
Oh, anyway, it ¡’s looking like a beautiful day

Someone tell me how I feel
It¡¯s silly wrong but vivid right
Oh, kiss me like the final meal
Yeah, kiss me like we die tonight

Cause holy cow, I love your eyes
And only now I see the light
Yeah, lying with me half-awake
Oh, anyway, it is looking like a beautiful day

When my face is chamois-creased
If you think I’ll wink, I did
Laugh politely at repeats
Yeah, kiss me when my lips are thin

Cause holy cow, I love your eyes
And only now I see you like
Yeah, lying with me half-awake
Stumbling over what to say
Well, anyway, it ¡s looking like a beautiful day

So throw those curtains wide!
One day like this a year ¡’d see me right!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 04 2011
Elaine

It’s completely new to me, but then I have been away for quite a while. What a fab tune, it’s got my day off to a great start. Thank you!

12 04 2011
djbaroque

It’s perfect morning music – It really gets you in the right mood for the day – I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

