A Song A Day: April 19th – Silver Memories

19 04 2011

It seems as though Christmas is threatening to come earlier and earlier each year (not that this humble blogger minds!) Without even trying I’ve had run-in’s with 2 mentions of Christmas today. One whilst catching up on a blog here on WP (there was a reference in passing to Christmas) and after some cupboard re-arranging today the Christmas decorations were moved! Entirely random, but I felt compelled to write it down!

Anyway, I was catching up on Seycen’s super duper blog and the one song on there moved me to comment about a childhood memory or two on the one song. This got me thinking about some music steeped with memories of my childhood.

So, how does Christmas references and childhood memories combine to make up todays post? So far on this blog I’ve yet to do a desert island discs/favourite albums type post but now I’m thinking about going that road. When I’m asked about my favourite albums, I normally discount greatest hits compilations except for very special albums/circumstances. One example of which is the focus of today’s post.

For as long as I can remember, one album has been forever embedded into my musical memory and is a contender for the soundtrack to my life list, and that album is the David Essex compilation, His Greatest Hits. I would go as far to say that there isn’t a single bad track on the album and the skip button doesn’t come into the equation. I could talk at length about how I love this album, but I’ll save that for another time. Instead, I’m going to leave you with a track from said compilation – namely Silver Dream Machine.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2011
Elaine

My word, I wouldn’t have picked you out as the David Essex fan. So you’re the one :-)

19 04 2011
djbaroque

I really like Mr. Essex – he has some great songs.

Leave a Reply

