A Song A Day: April 23rd – Perfect Summer Music

23 04 2011

Fat Old SunFlippin’ heck it’s been a hot day here in England. We hit 26oC round my parts which was pretty amazing for April. It was an absolute corker of a day weather wise. We even got a few rumbles of thunder in the evening! The sun was glorious. Granted… this’ll probably be our summer for the year and the actual proper summer months will be a disappointment, which is normally the way. I could though of course, be totally incorrect and we could have sunshine like this continuing for the time to come. I just think a lot of people will be happy that it’s come on a bank holiday.

So anyway, I was out and about this morning coming back from a walk round at a National Trust property in the sun. The iPod was on shuffle, and it threw up a song which I think is just about perfect for today. The lyrics, the tone, the music. It’s absolutely bang on. As soon as I heard it come on, I knew I had to put it up on the blog here today. The version I’m sharing is the original album version taken from the #1 album ‘Atom Heart Mother’ – The track is called Fat Old Sun. Watch out for a superb guitar solo which just snaps in and flows like the sunlight beaming down on us today.

When that fat old sun in the sky is falling
Summer evenin’ birds are calling
Summer’s Sunday and a year
The sound of music in my ears
Distant bells
New mown grass smells so sweet
By the river holding hands
Roll me up and lay me down

And if you see
Don’t make a sound
Pick your feet up off the ground
And if you hear as the warm night falls
The silver sound from a time so strange
Sing to me
Sing to me

When that fat old sun in the sky is falling
Summer evenin’ birds are calling
Children’s laughter in my ears
The last sunlight disappears
And if you see
Don’t make a sound
Pick your feet up off the ground
And if you hear as the warm night falls
The silver sound from a time so strange
Sing to me
Sing to me
When that fat old sun in the sky is…(fades out)

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the r

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

