A Song A Day – April 25th: Due Thanks + Monday Morning Feeling Good!

25 04 2011

I need to start this post with a note about yesterday. I featured a new and upcoming band called Vintage Trouble who I saw performing on the TV. In what was a totally awesome and classy move by the band themselves, they featured and linked yesterdays post on their facebook and twitter pages. Thanks guys, that was a very nice surprise. I’m very appreciative and deeply thankful for it.

So onto todays post. It’s Monday again which is possibly my favourite day of the week. The start of a new week and a new set of things to look forward too and anticipate. My pub quiz returns this week after a one week break so that’s extremely cool to look forward to. Hopefully the PSN will be back online after it’s emergency maintenance in time for the Uncharted 2 ‘Triple Your Money’ weekend.

Every Monday I try to feature a piece of music which will hopefully get your week off to a good start and in a good mood. If there is one song which to me fits this criteria it’s She Bangs The Drums by the Stone Roses. Taken from the eponymous Stone Roses album (top 10 contender for greatest album ever) this track literally oozes sunshine, feel good and joy. The bassline riff is simple, yet has a groove all of it’s own. The jangily chiming guitars provide a lush backdrop for the laid back vocals, which all adds up to one of greatest pieces of indie music ever recorded. Put simply… this is possibly the perfect way to start your week. I hope you enjoy… She Bangs The Drums by The Stone Roses.

I can feel the earth begin to move
I hear my needle hit the groove
And spiral through another day
I hear my song begin to say
Kiss me where the sun don’t shine
The past was yours
But the future’s mine
You’re all out of time

I don’t feel too steady on my feet
I feel hollow I feel weak
Passion fruit and holy bread
Fill my guts and ease my head
Through the early morning sun
I can see her here she comes

She bangs the drums

Have you seen her have you heard
The way she plays there are no words
To describe the way I feel

How could it ever come to pass
She’ll be the first she’ll be the last
To describe the way I feel
The way I feel

Have you seen her have you heard
The way she plays there are no words
To describe the way I feel

How could it ever come to pass
She’ll be the first she’ll be the last
To describe the way I feel
The way I feel

Have you seen her have you heard
The way she plays there are no words
To describe the way I feel

How could it ever come to pass
She’ll be the first she’ll be the last
To describe the way I feel
The way I feel

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

