A Song A Day – April 26th: Hurroo, Hurroo

26 04 2011

Yesterday was a fairly uneventful day for me. Some housework and general bits and bobs allowed for the day to tick past at a steady rate. One think i’m getting far too used too is having the snooker back on my TV. Red button coverage is fantastic for a liberal fix of snooker. I’m a huge fan, and I’m enjoying being able to turn it on, and nearly always have a live match or highlights playing on my TV. I’ll certainly miss that this time next week when the tournament has finished.

The Playstation network is still down, I’m missing my uncharted 2 fix, i was just beginning to get halfway decent at that game! Fast approaching an entire week it’s been offline, bit of a shame, but hopefully the work done will improve things. Lots of people been bitching about it on the forums. Tough. You can bitch all you want, but it won’t get you very far, nor will it make the repair work happen anytime sooner. Just gotta sit this one out.

I’ve got a bit of a fun song for you today by punk band, The Dropkick Murphies. I first heard todays song in Guitar Hero 3, I’ve played it a few times today. It’s pretty sweet. Take the melody to the animals go in two by two, throw in some anti-war lyrics, and punkify it. That’s the song in a nutshell. I learnt tonight also that it’s a traditional song and the band merely recorded it. They did a good job though :) – I hope you enjoy it…. Johnny I Hardly Knew Ye by The Dropkick Murphies.

When on the road to sweet Athy,
Hurroo Hurroo
When on the road to sweet Athy,
Hurroo Hurroo
When on the road to sweet Athy
A stick in the hand, A drop in the eye
A doleful damsel I heard cry
Johnny I hardly knew ya

Where are the eyes that looked so mild,
Hurroo Hurroo
Where are the eyes that looked so mild,
Hurroo Hurroo
Where are the eyes that looked so mild
When my poor heart you first beguiled
Why did ya run from me and the child
Johnny I hardly knew ya

[Chorus:]
We had guns and drums and drums and guns,
Hurroo Hurroo
We had guns and drums and drums and guns,
Hurroo Hurroo
We had guns and drums and drums and guns
The enemy never slew ya
Johnny I hardly knew ya

Where are the legs with which you run,
Hurroo Hurroo
Where are the legs with which you run,
Hurroo Hurroo
Where are the legs with which you run,
When first you went to carry a gun
Indeed your dancing days are done
Johnny I hardly knew ya

[Chorus]

You hadn’t an arm, you hadn’t a leg,
Hurroo Hurroo
You hadn’t an arm, you hadn’t a leg,
Hurroo Hurroo
You hadn’t an arm, you hadn’t a leg
You’re a spinless, boneless, chickenless egg
You’ll Have to be put with the bowl to beg
Johnny I hardly knew ya

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

