A Song A Day: April 28th – The Workin’ Man

28 04 2011

I haven’t been so defined on the song choice decision making in a while. Whilst you could argue that Dolly Partons 9 to 5 is also a suitable fit, I think today’s choice is equal in terms of suitability.

So… why am I posting this? Well today was a superb day. I was getting the work training for the job I start next week! I’m super duper excited about it. I’m going to be manning the website for my local primary school. The potential for multimedia content I can and dare I say it will produce is staggering. I’m humongously excited about it. I was walking to the school this morning, and apart from a slight feeilng of being a kid again, I had this one song playing in my mind and I knew I had to throw it up here today.

The lyrics, and the music just seemed to fit my mood today, so without further ado… Today’s song choice is Working man by Rush. For the unitiated, Geddy Lee is a male vocalist… and a bloody good one at that.

I get up at seven, yeah,
And I go to work at nine.
I got no time for livin’,
Yes, I’m workin’ all the time.

Chorus
It seems to me
I could live my life
A lot better than I think I am.
I guess that’s why they call me,
They call me the working man.

They call me the working man.
I guess that’s what I am.

I get home at five o’clock,
And I take myself out a nice, cold beer.
Always seem to be wonderin’
Why there’s nothin’ goin’ down here.

Chorus

Well they call me the working man.
I guess that’s what I am.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: http://bit.ly/eBAhZi — or at the Facebook Fan Page: http://on.fb.me/fszSws

If you’re a fellow postaday2011 blogger then I strongly urge you to check out this wonderful facebook community: http://on.fb.me/gpDjW1

You can also subscribe to this wonderful blog either via the wordpress bar up the top if you’re a WP user, or by using the great little email thingamajig on the right!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

